Special Education/Gifted

The Department of Juvenile Justice provides a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) for all students with disabilities and ensures that measures are in place, allowing access to instruction, as identified by the student’s individual needs.

Special Education

For those students who qualify for special education services under the Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), an Individualized Education Plan (IEP) is developed. The IEP is specifically designed to meet the unique needs of the individual child.

Section 504

For students with disabilities who qualify for services under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, a 504 plan is developed, providing reasonable accommodations needed in order for the child to access the general education curriculum.

Gifted Students

The Department of Juvenile Justice committed to the identification of gifted students among all ethnic, racial, and socioeconomic groups, to include those who are learning disabled, physically disadvantaged, and previously unidentified as being gifted. Identified gifted students are provided qualitatively differentiated instruction that will prepare them to participate in educational activities commensurate with their abilities.

Contact Info

Jill Becker
Director of Special Education & Gifted Programs
(804) 588-4418
Jill.Becker@djj.virginia.gov

Johnell Ferrell
Program Support
Johnell.Ferrell@djj.virginia.gov

Dr. Deborah Rullman
School Psychologist
Deborah.Rullman@djj.virginia.gov

Compliance Specialists -
Beaumont Campus:

Jay Truex
Jay.Truex@djj.virginia.gov

Mary-Frances Morse
Mary-Frances.Morse@djj.virginia.gov

Compliance Specialists -
Bon Air Campus:

Martin Burch
Martin.Burch@djj.virginia.gov

Deana Williams
Deana.Williams@djj.virginia.gov