Practice Improvement and Reform

Beth Stinnett, Statewide Program Manager, and a team of program specialists work together to implement a statewide system of quality assurance, practice improvement and reform activities. The unit works with Court Service Units to improve practice with emphasis on implementing evidence-based principles and practices and adhering to the Principles of Effective Intervention (Risk-Need-Responsivity). Areas of fidelity coaching include but are not limited to: risk assessment interviewing and scoring, case planning, and interventions. Core correctional practices and interventions are taught through an intensive training and coaching program called Effective Practices in Community Supervision (EPICS). In addition to quality assurance and practice improvement, the unit is also coordinates and implements a number of reform activities including the agency’s participation in the Annie E. Casey Foundation’s Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative (JDAI).

Contact Info

Beth Mohler Stinnett
Program Manager
(804) 588-3908
Beth.Stinnett@djj.virginia.gov

Lesley Hull
Central Region Coach
(804) 221-1036
Lesley.Hull@djj.virginia.gov

Emily Thomas
Eastern Region Coach
(804) 382-6170
Emily.Thomas@djj.virginia.gov

Katherine Farmer
Northern Region Coach
(804) 291-7083
Katherine.Farmer@djj.virginia.gov

Teresa Moore
Southern Region Coach
(804) 239-5110
Teresa.Moore@djj.virginia.gov

Angela Hiatt
Western Region Coach
(804) 229-8386
Angela.Hiatt@djj.virginia.gov