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JUVENILE OFFENDER RE-ENTRY BILLS

HB 2036 (Delegate Peace) and SB 1170 (Senator Marsden) Parole Planning for Foster Care
Commitments. HB 2036 and SB 1170 amend 8 16.1-293 of the Code of Virginia relating to parole
planning for children returning to foster care. HB 2036 and SB 1170 require the court services unit
(CSU) to consult with DSS 90 days prior to the release of a juvenile, under the age of 18 at the time of
release who was in DSS custody prior to release, and the CSU and DSS to develop a transition plan for
the juvenile.
> Applicability: Applies in cases where a juvenile (i) will be under the age of 18 at the time of
release, (ii) was in the custody of DSS prior to commitment, and (iii) will return to the custody
of DSS upon release.
» Current Law: Under current law this consultation must occur four weeks prior to the release
from the commitment.
» New: The timeframe for the required consultation is extended from 4 weeks to 90 days prior to
release.
» New: The CSU and DSS must collaborate to develop a plan that prepares the juvenile’s
transition, identifies needed services, and details how the services are to be provided.

This legislation incorporates the recommendations of the Virginia Commission on Youth's Study of
Juvenile Offender Re-Entry and the Governor's Virginia Prisoner and Juvenile Offender Re-Entry
Council. HB 2276 (Delegate Keam) was incorporated into HB 2036. See, Chapter 39 of the 2011 Acts
of Assembly and Chapter 442 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.

SB 954 (Senator Y.B. Miller) Juvenile Enterprise Committee Membership. SB 954 amends § 66-
25.1 of the Code of Virginia relating to juvenile work programs. SB 954 expands the membership of
the committee that reviews agreements with a public or private entity for the operation of a work
program for juveniles committed to DJJ and requires the committee to develop a plan. This committee
is called the Virginia Juvenile Enterprise Committee.

> New: Expands the committee membership to include a representative of: (1) a business that
employs, has employed, or has expressed interest in employing juvenile offenders; (2) a
workforce investment board; (3) the Department of Correctional Education; (4) the Office of
the Secretary of Education; (5) the Virginia Community College System; and (6) the Virginia
Workforce Council.

» New: A second enactment clause requires the committee described in subsection A of § 66-25.1
of the Code of Virginia to develop and submit to DJJ a plan to establish a network of
businesses willing to employ juveniles released from the Department's commitment.

> Delayed effectiveness: A third enactment clause delays enactment of this act until July 1, 2012.
See, Chapter 551 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Delayed effective date of July 1, 2012.

Governor’s State Government Reform Commission: The Governor’s State Reform Commission is
exploring proposals for the elimination and consolidation of committees and boards. The Virginia
Juvenile Enterprise Committee is being considered for elimination. Given that the Governor’s State
Reform Commission’s work is not complete, expansion of a committee under continuing consideration
appears premature and a delayed enactment clause was added in the event the committee is
recommended for consolidation or elimination.
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JUVENILE RECORDS BILLS

HB 1783 (Delegate Gilbert) and SB 1166 (Senator Reynolds): Interstate Release of Juvenile
Records. HB 1783 and SB 1166 amend § 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia to allow the Department of
Juvenile Justice (DJJ) and local court service units (CSUs) to share confidential juvenile records with a
person, agency, or institution in other states for treatment, rehabilitation, or maintaining security in
detention and other similar secure facilities. The intent of the legislation is to eliminate barriers and
facilitate the exchange of confidential juvenile records across state lines between "sister" juvenile
justice agencies. See, Chapters 99 and 169 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.

> Issue #1: Juveniles under Court Supervision in Virginia and also in a Border State. The issue
involves those children living in Virginia or in a border state, such as Maryland, who may be
court-involved in both Virginia and Maryland and the inability to share confidential
information between Virginia and the border state on "shared children."”

> Issue #2: The State of Maryland Needs a Reciprocal Agreement with Virginia to Share
Confidential Juvenile Information. In 2009 Maryland enacted legislation that allows its
Department of Juvenile Services to share confidential juvenile records with similar agencies in
Washington, D.C., and Virginia, but only if there is reciprocity. This legislation provides
reciprocity and allows such information to be shared between Maryland and Virginia.

» New: Sharing For Out-of-State Treatment & Rehabilitation Services: Information may be
shared for the provision of treatment or rehabilitation services for the juvenile who is the
subject of the information.

» New: Sharing For Out-of-State Juvenile Detention Facilities: Information may be shared when
the requesting party has custody of or is providing supervision for a juvenile in a detention
facility or other secure facility in another state when the release of the confidential information
is in the interest of maintaining security.

» This Legislation is Similar to a 2009 Bill Covering Law-Enforcement Records (SB 1377 -
Senator Stolle, 2009). In 2009 the Virginia General Assembly enacted SB 1377 that allowed
law enforcement in Virginia to share confidential juvenile arrest records with law enforcement
in other states. This legislation is consistent with the 2009 legislation (§ 16.1-301(D)).

» Technical or clarifying amendment? The legislation adds “in any state” after referencing to
whom the information may be shared. It is arguable that the information could have been
shared with any state previously since the sharing was not restricted in state.

HB 2012 (Delegate Carrico): Juvenile CCRE Records and Screening Law Enforcement
Employees. HB 2012 amends 88 16.1-308 and 19.2-389.1 of the Code of Virginia relating to the
disclosure of juvenile records for the purpose of screening for law-enforcement civilian employment
positions. The bill allows juvenile record information maintained by State Police in the Central
Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) to be disseminated to the State Police or a local police
department or sheriff's office for the purpose of screening a person for employment. It provides that a
person who was adjudicated delinquent may be denied employment with the State Police or a local
police department or sheriff's office. The Senate amended the bill so that denial of employment must
be based on the nature and gravity of the offense, the time since adjudication, the time since
completion of any sentence, and the nature of the job sought.
» Current Law: Under current law, law-enforcement personnel have access to juvenile record
information for the purpose of the administration of criminal justice, but not for screening
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civilian employment applicants. Juvenile adjudications may not operate to disqualify the
juvenile from employment by any state or local governmental agency.
New! Access to Juvenile Records: This bill: (1) allows the Virginia State Police and local
police and sheriff’s offices to review an applicant's juvenile delinquency history, including
felonies and Class 1 and 2 misdemeanors, in deciding whether to hire the individual and (2)
gives law-enforcement offices the ability to deny employment based on the applicant's juvenile
delinquency history. Thus juveniles, who may have been offered a position of employment
under the current law, can be denied employment based on prior adjudications of delinquency.
Information to be shared: Section 16.1-299 of the Code of Virginia requires law-enforcement
officers to take the fingerprints and photographs of a juvenile when that juvenile is arrested for
a delinquent act that would be reportable to the CCRE pursuant to subsection A of § 19.2-390
of the Code of Virginia. Accordingly, the CCRE contains the fingerprints and a report of the
disposition of any juvenile, regardless of age, if the juvenile:
o is convicted of a felony,
o is adjudicated delinquent of an offense that would be a felony if committed by an adult,
0 has a case involving an offense, which would be a felony if committed by an adult, that
is dismissed pursuant to the deferred disposition provisions of § 16.1-278.8, or
o is convicted or adjudicated delinquent of any other offense for which a report to the
CCRE is required by subsection C of § 19.2-390 (which includes all Class 1 and Class 2
misdemeanors, as they are punishable by confinement in jail as provided in 18.2-11 of
the Code of Virginia).
New! Denial of Employment: If the State Police intend to deny a person employment based upon an
adjudication of delinquency in juvenile court, then such denial must be based on:
0 The nature and gravity of the offense,
0 The time since adjudication,
o0 The time since completion of any sentence, and
0 The nature of the job sought.
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JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS COURTS BILLS

SB 1168 (Senator Marsden): Pre-Dispositional Detention for Violation of Conditions of Release.
SB 1168 amends § 16.1-248.1 of the Code of Virginia relating to detention of a juvenile for
noncompliance with the terms of his conditional release. SB 1168 provides that a juvenile can be
detained in detention prior to trial when that juvenile violates the terms of his conditional release,
imposed by the court, an intake officer, or a magistrate, if the underlying offense is a Class 1
misdemeanor or a felony. As enacted, if a juvenile violates his conditional release, that juvenile can
be detained in detention regardless of whether the juvenile is a threat to public safety as required under
current law. See, Chapter 644 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective date July 1, 2011.

» Current law: Under current law, a juvenile can be detained for a Class 1 misdemeanor or a
felony if the remaining criteria of 8 16.1-248.1(A)(1) are satisfied. Briefly, the criteria focus
upon whether the juvenile is a public safety threat or risk. (The release constitutes a clear and
substantial threat to the person or property of others; or a clear and substantial threat of serious
harm to such juvenile's life or health; or the juvenile has threatened to abscond from the court's
jurisdiction or has failed to appear within the immediately preceding 12 months.)

> New! A Small, but Substantive Change to the Current Law? Under SB 1168, if a juvenile is
taken into custody for a Class 1 misdemeanor or a felony and released upon conditions imposed
by a judge, an intake officer, or a magistrate, that juvenile may be detained in detention for any
violation of those conditions regardless of whether the juvenile is a threat to public safety as
required under current law.

» Example: A juvenile arrested for a Class 1 misdemeanor shoplifting violation of § 18.2-103 and
released to his parents under conditions which he subsequently violates, then that juvenile
could be detained regardless of whether the remaining criteria of § 16.1-248.1(A)(1) are
satisfied by clear and convincing evidence.

HB 2462 (Delegate Habeeb): Summons for Possession of Marijuana & “Baby DUL.” HB 2462
amends § 16.1-260 of the Code of Virginia relating to intake and petitions initiating actions in juvenile
and domestic relations district courts. The bill allows law-enforcement personnel to issue a summons
and release a juvenile to the custody of a parent or legal guardian pending the initial court date when
the juvenile is charged with a misdemeanor violation of § 18.2-250.1 (Possession of marijuana) or §
18.2-266.1 (Person under the age of 21 driving with a blood alcohol level of .02 to .08) of the Code of
Virginia. It also adds § 16.1-278.8:01 (Screening and assessment for juveniles found delinquent of
first drug offense) to the dispositional options available to the court. Under current law, actions in
juvenile court for these offenses must be initiated by filing a petition through the court service units
(CSU). Under current law, a summons, in lieu of filing a petition, can be issued for violations of §
18.2-266 (Driving under the influence with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater) and § 29.1-738
(Operating a boat while intoxicated) of the Code of Virginia. See, Chapter 825 of the 2011 Acts of
Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.

» Current law: With a few exceptions, all actions in juvenile court are initiated by the filing of a
petition with juvenile court. One exception is that law enforcement may issue a summons and
release a juvenile on (i) driving while intoxicated (.08 BAL and above), (ii) boating while
intoxicated, and (iii) other alcohol-related offenses.
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New! Limitation to Misdemeanors: This legislation limits the option to summons and release
juveniles to misdemeanor cases only (prior to July 1, 2011, felonies and misdemeanors could
be summoned and released).
New! Possession of Marijuana: This legislation expands the classes of offenses on which law
enforcement may issue a summons and release a juvenile to the custody of that juvenile’s
parent or legal guardian. It adds misdemeanor (i) underage driving with a BAL of .02- .08 and
(ii) possession of marijuana.
New! Right for Diversion Consideration: A juvenile who is charged with misdemeanor
possession of marijuana by summons is entitled to have the charge referred to intake for
consideration of diversion. To exercise this right, the juvenile must provide written notice to
the clerk 10 or more days before the scheduled adjudicatory hearing.
New! Notice by Law Enforcement: Law enforcement must provide written notice of the right to
have the charge referred to intake for consideration of diversion. This notice must be returned
to the clerk of court.

o It the right to seek diversion is not noticed to the juvenile or returned to the court, the

court must dismiss the case without prejudice.

o If dismissed, law enforcement may seek a petition on the charge via intake.
Diversion is not mandatory: The law requires the case to be referred to intake for consideration
of diversion. The intake officer retains discretion on whether to divert the charge.
Conference Committee Report: Because the Senate and House passed versions of HB 2462
with conflicting language, HB 2462 went to conference. The Conference Committee added
language that allows a juvenile charged with a possession of marijuana violation under § 18.2-
250.1 of the Code of Virginia to be entitled to have the charge referred to intake for
consideration of informal proceedings pursuant to subsection B of § 16.1-260 of the Code of
Virginia. The juvenile must exercise that right by written notification to the clerk no later than
10 days prior to trial. In addition, at the time of the issuance of the summons, the law-
enforcement officer must provide written notice of the right to have the charge referred to
intake on a form approved by the Supreme Court and make return of such service to the
juvenile court. If the law-enforcement officer fails to make the service or return, the juvenile
court shall dismiss the summons without prejudice.
Rationale for Conference Committee Amendments: The Senate had significant concerns with
removing the opportunity for diversion for juveniles charged with the possession of marijuana.
Thus, the citation to marijuana was removed from the bill. The House objected to the Senate
amendments, and the bill went to the Conference Committee. The Conference Committee
report was a compromise.

HB 2085 (Delegate C. Herring): Guardianship & Child Custody. HB 2085 amends § 31-8 and
repeals 88 31-15 through 31-18 of the Code of Virginia relating to guardianships and child custody.
HB 2085 eliminates the option for parents who are separated but not divorced to bring a custody
proceeding in either circuit court or juvenile and domestic relations district court. Such actions shall be
brought in juvenile and domestic relations district court, unless concurrent jurisdiction exists with the
circuit court, i.e., divorce actions. See, Chapter 113 of the Acts of Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.
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Other Bills of Interest:

HB 1529 (Delegate D. Toscano): Pendente lite support orders; payment of debts. HB 1529
amends § 20-103 of the Code of Virginia relating to court orders in pending suits for divorce,
custody, and visitation. It provides that a pendente lite spousal support order may include
ordering that a party pay secured or unsecured debts incurred jointly by the parties or in either
party's name.

» Current law: The court may order the other spouse to pay any sums necessary for the
“maintenance and support” of the petitioning spouse including providing health care
coverage.

> New! Secured and unsecured debts: The legislation adds a provision allowing the judge
to “order that a party pay secured and unsecured debts incurred jointly or by either
party” pending resolution of a suit for divorce, custody, or visitation.

SB 910 (Senator M. Herring): Military parents; delegation of visitation rights. SB 910
amends § 20-108, 20-124.8, and 20-124.9 of the Code of Virginia relating to visitations rights
of deployed military personnel. It provides that in cases involving a parent who is a member of
the military and who has been deployed on active duty, a court may enter an order (i)
delegating the deploying parent's visitation rights with a child to a family member of the
deploying parent or (ii) awarding visitation rights to a family member of the deploying parent if
the parent had physical custody of the child prior to the deployment and physical custody is
awarded to the nondeploying parent or his family during the deployment. Written notice of the
return of the deployed parent or guardian and the termination of the delegated visitation shall
be provided by the previously deployed parent or guardian to any family member whose
visitation is thereby terminated.
» Procedure: The deploying parent or guardian must file a motion to delegate visitation to
a family member.
= The delegee must have a substantial relationship with the child.
= The court must find that the delegation is in the best interests of the child.
» New! Delegation of rights:
= |f the deploying parent had visitation rights with the child prior to the
deployment, all or a portion of those rights may be delegated.
= |f the deploying parent had physical custody of the child prior to deployment
and the nondeploying parent (or a member of that parent’s family) is awarded
physical custody during deployment, the legislation allows for providing
visitation rights to a family member of the deployed parent.
» Safeguards:
= This legislation does not create a separate right to visitation in the delegee.
= Either parent or guardian may, upon a showing of a material change in
circumstances, file a motion to rescind the order delegating or providing
visitation rights to a family member.
= The order under this subsection terminated upon the return of the deploying
parent or guardian from deployment.
> New! Electronic appearance: The legislation provides that the court may provide for the
appearance of parties and witnesses via electronic means at any hearing under the
Virginia Military Parents Equal Protection Act (8 20-124.7 et seq.).



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=111&typ=bil&val=hb1529
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=111&typ=bil&val=hb1529
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+20-103
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=111&typ=bil&val=SB910
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=111&typ=bil&val=SB910
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+20-108
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+20-124.8
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+20-124.9
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+20-124.7
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ALCOHOL OFFENSE BILLS

HB 1407 (Delegate Janis) and SB 770 (Senator Marsden): Baby DUI. HB 1407 and SB 770
amend § 18.2-266.1 of the Code of Virginia Provides that “zero tolerance” (0.02% BAC) underage
drinking and driving is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. HB 1407 and SB 770 make "Baby
DUI" (driving under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol level of 0.02 to 0.08 percent) a Class 1
misdemeanor with a mandatory one-year driver's license suspension and minimum fine of $500 or 50
hours of community service. This legislation corrects an oversight from the 2010 General Assembly
Session wherein legislation was not introduced to remove an enactment clause containing a sunset date
from prior legislation (HB 719 in 2008 and HB 1868 in 2009). See, Chapters 683 and 134 of the 2011
Acts of Assembly. Effective date July 1, 2011.

» Current law: Section 18.2-266.1 of the Code of Virginia makes it unlawful for a person under
the age of 21 to drive with a blood alcohol level of 0.02 to 0.08 percent (commonly referred to
as "Baby DUI"). Under current law a violation of this section must be punished with a six-
month driver's license suspension and a fine of not more than $500.00. The suspension is in
addition to the suspension period provided under § 46.2-391.2 of the Code of Virginia. The
penalties and license forfeiture provisions set forth in 8§ 16.1-278.9, 18.2-270, and 18.2-271 do
not apply to a violation of § 18.2-266.1 of the Code of Virginia.

» Why All the Confusion? During the 2008 General Assembly Session, Delegate Janis sought
parity between the penalties for "Baby DUI" and underage possession or consumption of
alcohol. Legislation was enacted that made "Baby DUI" punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor
(see HB 719). Due to concerns expressed by the Department of Criminal Justice Services
(DCJS) regarding the impact of the legislation on federal funding under the Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention Act of 2002 (JJDPA, 42 U.S.C. § 5601 et seq.), an enactment clause
with the sunset provision that removed the Class 1 misdemeanor offense language in § 18.2-
266.1 of the Code of Virginia on July 1, 2010, was included. Under federal interpretation, it
appeared that "Baby DUI" and possession of alcohol would be included in the federal definition
of a "status offense.” Subsequently, the sunset clause was attached to allow the issue to be
studied. However, no legislation in 2009 and 2010 was enacted that would remove the sunset
date. Thus, on July 1, 2010, § 18.2-266.1 of the Code of Virginia reverted to the pre-2008
language, and the penalty for ‘Baby-DUI” was no longer a Class 1 misdemeanor.

HB 1496 (Delegate C. Herring): Providing Alcohol to an Underage Person. HB 1496 amends §
4.1-306 of the Code of Virginia to provide that any person who purchases alcoholic beverages for or
otherwise gives, provides, or willfully assists in the provision of alcoholic beverages to another person,
knowing or having “reason to know” that such person was less than 21 years of age is guilty of a Class
1 misdemeanor. See, Chapter 31 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1407
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB770
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1407
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB770
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-266.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1407
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB770
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0683
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+46.2-391.2
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-278.9
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-270
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-271
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-266.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?081+sum+HB719
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-266.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-266.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1496
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1496
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+4.1-306
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0031
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CRIME BILLS

HB 1434 (Delegate Garrett) and SB 745 (Senator M. Herring): Synthetic Cannabinoids (“Spice”)
& Bath Salts. HB 1434 and SB 745 amend numerous sections of the Code of Virginia relating to
synthetic illegal substances. This legislation makes it illegal to manufacture, possess, sell, give,
distribute, or possess with the intent to sell, give, or distribute “synthetic cannabinoids” and “bath
salts.”
> New! “Synthetic cannabinoids” are commonly referred to as spice, K2, Mr. Smiley or synthetic
marijuana and includes any substance that contains one or more of ten synthetic materials
enumerated in § 18.2-248.1:1 of the Code of Virginia. Synthetic cannabinoids are dried herbs
sprayed with a chemical compound that, when smoked, creates a high similar to marijuana.
> New! “Bath salts” are a synthetic stimulant, which has been called super coke, M4, meph, and
drone and are commonly called MDPV, mephedrone, and 4-MMC. Bath salts come in tablet
and powder forms and produce effects similar to that of amphetamines and cocaine.

HB 1434 and SB 745 adds § 18.2-248.1:1 to create specific penalties for possessing, selling, giving,
distributing, or possessing with intent to distribute, synthetic cannabinoids and amends several existing
statutes, including 88§ 18.2-255, 18.2-255.1, 18.2-255.2, 18.2-258, 18.2-258.02, 18.2-258.1, 18.2-308.4,
18.2-474.1, 53.1-203 and 54.1-3446, to define penalties specific to synthetic cannabinoids. The
punishment for possession and distribution of synthetic marijuana is largely in accord with the
provisions for actual marijuana. Itis a Class 1 misdemeanor to possess; a Class 6 felony to sell, give
or distribute or possess with the intent to sell, give or distribute; and an unclassified felony, with a
mandatory period of confinement of 5 to 30 years, to manufacture synthetic cannabinoids.

The legislation adds “bath salts” as a series of controlled substances listed in Schedule 1 (8§ 54.1-3446)
of the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.). The penalties are provided for in § 18.2-248, which
have not changed, relating to the manufacture, selling, giving, distributing, or possessing with the
intent to manufacture, sell, give, or distribute a controlled substance or an imitation controlled
substance. Possession of a Schedule I drug is a Class 5 felony and selling or manufacturing a Schedule
I drug is punishable by 5 to 40 years in prison.

The bills contain an emergency enactment clause making the law take effect on March 23, 2011. See,
Chapters 384 and 410 of the 2011. Effective on March 23, 2011.

» HB 1434 incorporated HB 1473, HB 1481, HB 1878, HB 1778, HB 1423, HB 1427.

» SB 745 incorporated SB 1082, SB 748, SB 926, SB 1186, SB 749, SB 882, & SB 1373.

HB 1898 (Delegate Hugo): Abduction of a Minor for Sexual Purposes. HB 1898 amends §8 18.2-
48, 18.2-67.7, and 18.2-356 of the Code of Virginia relating to abduction of minors for sexual
purposes.

» Current law: Itis a Class 2 felony to abduct any person (i) with the intent to extort money or
pecuniary benefit, (ii) with the intent to defile, (ii) if under sixteen years of age, for the purpose
of concubinage or prostitution. Currently, under § 18.2-356 it is a Class 4 felony to receive
money for procuring for or placing in a house of prostitution any person for the purpose of
causing such person to engage in unlawful sexual intercourse or any act in violation of § 18.2-
361.



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1434
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB745
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1434
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB745
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1434
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB745
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1898
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1898
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-48
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-48
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.7
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-356
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» New! HB 1898 makes the following actions criminal:

e Abduction of any minor for the purpose of manufacturing of child pornography (Class 2
felony);

e Abduction of any person for the purpose of prostitution expanding the application from
15 years of age and younger (Class 2 felony);

e Receive money for procuring a person for purposes of concubinage, prostitution, or the
manufacture of obscene material or child pornography (Class 4 felony).

See, Chapter 784 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.

HB 1995 (Delegate Janis) and SB 1426 (Senator Deeds): Child Pornography & Mandatory
Restitution. HB 1995 and SB 1426 amend 19.2-305.1 of the Code of Virginia relating to mandatory
restitution for victims of child pornography. HB 1995 and SB 1426 require that a defendant convicted
of an offense under § 18.2-374.1 (production of Child Pornography), 18.2-374.1:1 (Possession of Child
Pornography), or 18.2-374.3 (Solicitation of a Minor by Electronic Means) shall be ordered to pay
mandatory restitution to the victim of the offense in an amount as determined by the court. For
purposes of this subsection, "victim™ means a person who is depicted in a still or videographic image
involved in one of the offenses listed above. For the above offenses, the Commonwealth must make
reasonable efforts to notify victims of those offenses. See, Chapters 575 and 588 of the 2011 Acts of
Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.

> In 2010, there were 849 total convictions for offenses under §18.2-374.1, 818.2-374.1:1, and

818.2-374.3. (Department of Planning and Budget Fiscal Impact Statement, March 4, 2011.)

HB 1487 (Delegate Hope): Venue for Criminal Sexual Assault Coupled with a Violent Felony.
HB 1487 amends § 18.2-359 of the Code of Virginia relating to venue for criminal sexual assault
coupled with a violent felony. HB 1487 provides that venue for the trial of any person charged with
committing or attempting to commit (i) any crime specified in 8 18.2-361 (Crimes Against Nature) or
18.2-370 (Indecent Liberties with a Child) or criminal sexual assault under Article 7 (8 18.2-61 et seq.)
of Chapter 4 and (ii) any violent felony as defined in § 17.1-805 or any act of violence as defined in §
19.2-297.1 arising out of the same incident, occurrence, or transaction may be had in the county or city
in which any such crime is alleged to have occurred or, with the concurrence of the attorney for the
Commonwealth in which the crime is alleged to have occurred, in any county or city through which the
victim was transported by the defendant in the commission of such offense. See, Chapter 763 of the
2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.

HB 1476 (Delegate Albo) and SB 1145 (Senator Quayle): Torts, Sexual Abuse and Limitations
Period. Section 8.01-243 of the Code of Virginia provides the limitations for bring a cause of action
for personal injuries or injuries to property. HB 1476 amends 8 8.01-243 of the Code of Virginia
extends the limitations period for actions for sexual abuse committed during the infancy or incapacity
of the abused person from two years to 20 years from the time of the removal of the infancy or
incapacity or from the time the cause of action otherwise accrues. See, Chapters 373 and 402 of the
2011Acts of Assembly. Effective date July 1, 2011.



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1898
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1995
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1426
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1995
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1426
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-305.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1995
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1426
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-374.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-374.1C1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-374.3
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0575
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0575
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1487
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1487
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-359
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1487
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-361
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-370
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-61
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+17.1-805
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-297.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0763
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1476
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1145
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+8.01-243
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1476
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+8.01-243
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0402
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PROTECTIVE ORDER BILLS

HB 2063 (Delegate R. B. Bell) and SB 1222 (Senator Barker): Expanding the Scope of “Stalking”
Protective Orders. HB 2063 and SB 1222 amend §8 16.1-69.55, 16.1-228, 16.1-253.1, 16.1-253.4,
16.1-279.1, 17.1-213, 17.1-272, 18.2-60.4, 19.2-81.3, 19.2-120, 19.2-152.8, 19.2-152.9, and 19.2-
152.10 of the Code of Virginia and creates § 19.2-152.7:1 relating to protective orders. HB 2063 and
SB 1222 expand the class of persons that is eligible to obtain a “stalking” protective order (renamed
under the bill “protective orders”) to include persons who have been subjected to any act involving
violence, force, or threat that results in bodily injury or places one in reasonable apprehension of death,
sexual assault, or bodily injury. See, Chapters 445 and 480 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective
July 1, 2011.
» New! Minimal Changes to Definition of Family Abuse: HB 2063 and SB 1222 also amend the
definition of "family abuse,” which is used to determine when a family abuse protective order
may be issued, to be consistent with the conduct that would allow for the issuance of a
protective order and providing that a family abuse protective order may include a condition
prohibiting the allegedly abusing person from committing a criminal offense that results in
injury to person or property.

e Current law: Family abuse involves violence, force, or threat that results in bodily
injury or places one in reasonable apprehension of bodily injury.

e Additional language: Adds that family abuse involves violence, force, or threat that
results in bodily injury or places one in reasonable apprehension of death, sexual
assault, or bodily injury. It also adds language that acts of family abuse includes
forceful detention, stalking, criminal sexual assault, or any criminal offense that results
in bodily injury or places on in reasonable apprehension of death, sexual assault, or
bodily injury.

> Not changed! Family and household member: The definition of family and household member
has not changed.

> New! Allowable Family Protective Order Conditions: Adds that the protective order may
prohibit acts of family abuse “or criminal offenses that result in injury to person or property.”

> New! Stalking Protective Orders Are Now Protective Orders:

e New name: Renames “stalking protective orders” to “protective orders.”

e Broader availability: Allows a protective order to be issued when an alleged victim
asserts that he or she has been subject to “an act of violence, force, or threat.” This
definition mirrors the definition of family abuse (any act involving violence, force, or
threat that results in bodily injury or places one in reasonable apprehension of death,
sexual assault, or bodily injury). Protective orders issued under Title 19.2 of the Code
of Virginia are no longer limited to cases involving stalking, sexual battery, aggravated
sexual battery, or a criminal offense resulting in serious bodily injury to the alleged
victim.

e No warrant required: Removes the requirement to have a warrant issued for the
issuance of a protective orders.

> New! Consistent Punishments: HB 2063 and SB 1222 also make the penalties for violating a
protective order consistent with the penalties for violating a family abuse protective order: (i)
any person convicted of a second violation of a protective order, when the offense is committed
within five years of a conviction for a prior offense and when either the instant or prior offense
was based on an act or threat of violence, shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2063
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1222
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2063
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1222
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-69.55
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-228
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-253.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-253.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-279.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+17.1-213
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+17.1-272
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-60.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-81.3
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-120
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-152.8
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-152.9
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-152.10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-152.10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-152.7C1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2063
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1222
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0480
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2063
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1222
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2063
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1222
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confinement of 60 days; (ii) any person convicted of a third or subsequent offense, when such
offense is committed within 20 years of the first conviction and when either the instant or any
of the prior offenses was based on an act or threat of violence, is guilty of a Class 6 felony and
punishment shall include a mandatory minimum term of confinement of six months; (iii) any
person who commits an assault and battery resulting in serious bodily injury upon a person
protected by a protective order is guilty of a Class 6 felony; and (iv) any person who violates a
protective order by furtively entering the home of the protected party while such party is
present or enters and remains in such home until the protected party arrives is guilty of a Class
6 felony.

HB 2089 (Delegate C. Herring): Service of Notice of Emergency Protective Orders. HB 2089
amends § 16.1-264 of the Code of Virginia relating to the service of notice for the issuance of an
emergency protective order. A person who is subject to an emergency protective order issued pursuant
to § 16.1-253.4 or 19.2-152.8 shall have been personally served with the protective order if a law-
enforcement officer personally provides to that person a notification of the issuance of the order. The
notification must be on a form approved by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia,
provided that all of the information and individual requirements of the order are included on the form.
The officer making service must enter or cause to be entered the date and time of service and other
appropriate information required by the Department of State Police into the Virginia Criminal
Information Network and make due return to the court. See, Chapter 482 of the 2011 Acts of
Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.

SB 925 (Senator McDougle) and HB 2106 (Delegate Armstrong): Protective Orders & GPS
Devices. HB 2106 and SB 925 amend 88 19.2-123 and 19.2-303 of the Code of Virginia relating to
GPS tracking for persons on bond or probation. HB 2106 and SB 925 allows for use of GPS units or
similar devices in lieu of incarceration in certain cases. See, Chapters 799 and 837 of the 2011 Acts of
Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.

HB 1779 (Delegate Gilbert) and SB 754 (Senator Reynolds): Preliminary Protective Orders &
Purchasing and Transporting of Firearm. HB 1779 and SB 754 amend § 18.2-308.1:4 of the Code
of Virginia relating to the purchase or transportation of firearms by persons subject to preliminary
protective orders. HB 1779 and SB 754 limit prohibition on purchasing and transporting a firearm
applicable to persons subject to preliminary protective orders issued pursuant to 8 16.1-253 to
circumstances wherein the petition was (i) relating to abuse and neglect and (ii) where there was a
finding of abuse and neglect by a preponderance of the evidence. See, Chapters 373 and 402 of the
2011Acts of Assembly. Effective date July 1, 2011.
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http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-308.1C4
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1779
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB754
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0402
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DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES BILLS

HB 1767 (Delegate Crockett-Stark) and SB 1040 (Senator Barker): Foster Care Placement Only
Via LDSS and Mandatory Background Checks. HB 1767 and SB 1040 amend §8§ 63.2-100 and
63.2-901.1 of the Code of Virginia relating to foster care placement. The legislation:

¢ Definition of Foster Care Placement: Removes the placement of a child through an agreement
between the parents or guardians and a public agency designated by a community policy and
management team from the definition of "foster care placement” so that "foster care
placement"” means placement must be though the local board.

e Mandatory Background Checks on All Household Members: Eliminates language granting local
boards of social services and licensed child-placing agencies discretion in deciding when to
obtain background checks on adult household members residing in a home with a person with
whom the local board or agency is considering placing a child on an emergency, temporary, or
permanent basis and makes such checks mandatory. See, Chapters 5 and 156 of the 2011 Acts
of Assembly. Effective date July 1, 2011.

HB 1984 (Delegate Kilgore) and SB 1178 (Senator Marsden). Foster Care Placements, Kinship
Care and Alternative Placements. Section 63.2-900 requires the State Board of Social Services to
adopt regulations for the provision of foster care services by local boards of social services which shall
be directed toward the prevention of unnecessary foster care placements and towards the immediate
care of and permanent planning for children in the custody of or placed by local boards and that shall
achieve, as quickly as practicable, permanent placements for such children. HB 1984 and SB 1178
amend § 63.2-900 of the Code of Virginia so that the local board must first seek out kinship care
options to keep children out of foster care and as a placement option for those children in foster care, if
it is in the child's best interests, pursuant to § 63.2-900.1. In cases in which a child cannot be returned
to his prior family or placed for adoption and kinship care is not currently in the best interests of the
child, the local board shall consider the placement and services that afford the best alternative for
protecting the child's welfare. Placements may include but are not limited to family foster care,
treatment foster care and residential care. Services may include but are not limited to assessment and
stabilization, diligent family search, intensive in-home, intensive wraparound, respite, mentoring,
family mentoring, adoption support, supported adoption, crisis stabilization or other community-based
services. See, Chapters 9 and 170 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective date of July 1, 2011.

SB 1037 (Senator Barker): Foster Care Plan - Independent Living is Not a Goal Option. SB 1037
amends 88 16.1-281, 16.1-282, 16.1-282.1, and 63.2-906 of the Code of Virginia relating to foster care
planning and independent living. SB 1037 eliminates independent living as a permanency goal option
for foster care plans approved on or after July 1, 2011, except in cases involving children admitted to
the United States as refugees or asylees who are 16 years of age or older. See, Chapter 730 of the 2011
Acts of Assembly. Effective on July 1, 2011.



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1767
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1040
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1767
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1040
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-901.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0005
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0005
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1984
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1178
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-900
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1984
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1178
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-900
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-900.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0009
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1037
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1037
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-281
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-282
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-282.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-906
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1037
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0730
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SB 1038 (Senator Barker). Foster Care & School Placement. SB 1038 amends 88 16.1-281 and
22.1-3.4 of the Code of Virginia and adds § 63.2-900.3 relating to school placement of foster care
children.

>

>

New! Required Foster Care Plan Component: Requires the foster care plan for school-aged
children to describe the school placement.

New! Ability to Remain at Sending School: Explicitly states that the child “shall be allowed” to
continue to attend the school in which the child was enrolled prior to placement in foster care
(if it is agreed by joint determination of the local department of social services and the local
school division that remaining in the sending school is in the best interest of the child). .

New! Collaborative Decision: Before placing a child of school age in a foster care placement,
as defined in § 63.2-100, the local social services agency making such placement shall, in
writing, determine jointly with the local school division whether it is in the child's best interests
to remain enrolled at the school in which he was enrolled prior to the most recent foster care
placement, pursuant to § 22.1-3.4 of the Code of Virginia. Current law allows the child to
continue if agreed upon by the sending and receiving school divisions (and does not include
social services in the collaboration).

See, Chapter 154 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective July 1, 2011.

HB 2037 (Delegate Peace): Unlawful for Person not Licensed by Board of Social Work to use
Title of Social Worker. HB 2037 adds § 54.1-3709 of the Code of Virginia relating to the practice of
social work. HB 2037 makes it unlawful for any person not licensed under the Board of Social Work
to use the title "Social Worker" in writing or in advertising in connection with his practice unless he
simultaneously uses clarifying initials that signify receiving a baccalaureate or master's degree in social
work from an accredited social work school or program approved by the Council on Social Work
Education or a doctorate in social work. A violation constitutes a Class 1 misdemeanor. See, Chapter
794 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Delayed effective date of July 1, 2013.

>

Federal Exception: HB 2037 allows federally defined "qualified social workers™ and ‘social
workers” to work in any licensed nursing home or hospice to use such titles. However, any
such individual may only use the titles in connection with the activities of the nursing home or
hospice.

DSS Exemption: HB 2037 does not require the Department of Social Services, or any other
entity, to hire licensed social workers or social workers with a baccalaureate or master's degree
in social work from an accredited social work school or program approved by the Council on
Social Work Education or a doctorate in social work.



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1038
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1038
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-281
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+22.1-3.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-900.3
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+22.1-3.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0154
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+HB2037
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+mbr+H194
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+HB2037
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-3709
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+HB2037
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0794
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+HB2037
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+HB2037
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COMPREHENSIVE SERVICES ACT BILLS

HB 1679 (Delegate R.P. Bell) and SB 1171 (Senator Marsden): State Executive Council for
Comprehensive Services for At-Risk Youth and Families and Denial of Funding. HB 1679 and
SB 1171 amend § 2.2-2648 of the Code of Virginia relating to the State Executive Council for
Comprehensive Services for At-Risk Youth and Families (SEC). HB 1679 and SB 1171 authorize the
SEC to deny state funding to a locality where the Community Policy and Management Team (CPMT)
fails to provide services that comply with the Comprehensive Services Act (8§ 2.2-5200 et seq.), any
other state law or policy, or any federal law pertaining to the provision of any service funded in
accordance with § 2.2-5211 of the Code of Virginia. (Section 2.2-5211 provides the criteria for
allocating the state pool of funds for public and private nonresidential and residential services for
troubled youths and families.) See, Chapters 397 and 413 of the 2011Acts of Assembly. Effective on
March 23, 2011.

» Three Additional Enactment Clauses: A second enactment clause requires the SEC to develop
policies by July 1, 2011 for the implementation of the legislation. A draft of the policy was
required to be submitted for public comment on April 1, 2011. A third enactment clause stated
that the provisions of this act only apply for reimbursements after July 1, 2011. A fourth
enactment clause contained an emergency clause stating that this act is in force from its
passage.



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1679
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1171
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1679
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1171
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-2648
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1679
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1171
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-5200
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-5211
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-5211
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0397
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SEX OFFENDER BILLS

HB 2066 (Delegate R.B. Bell) and SB 1185 (Senator Norment): Violent Sexual Offenders &
Prohibiting Entry onto School Buses. HB 2066 and SB 1185 amends § 18.2-370.5 of the Code of
Virginia relating to sex offenses prohibiting entry onto school or other property. HB 2066 and SB
1185 expands the prohibition on entry onto school grounds by any adult convicted of a sexually violent
offense to include any school bus as defined in 8 46.2-100. Under current law, offenders convicted of
a violent sexual offense may enter the school or school property to vote or to attend classes as a
student; they may also obtain a court order to gain access to such properties. The Governor’s
amendment clarifies that a violent sexual offender cannot enter a school bus. The penalty for violating
8§ 18.2-370.5 remains a Class 6 felony. Sexually violent offenses are defined in 8 9.1-902 of the Code
of Virginia. See, Chapters 796 and 855 of the 2011Acts of the Assembly. Effective on July 1, 2011.

SB 1318 (Senator Newman): Sex Offenders on School Property — Technical Fix. SB 1318 amends
§ 18.2-370.5 of the Code of Virginia relating to sex offenses and prohibiting entry onto school
property. SB 1318 changes "and" to "or" in two places to avoid an interpretation that a sex offender is
prohibited from being on school property during school-related or school-sponsored activities only
during school hours. A sexually violent offender is prohibited from entering or being present during
school hours, and is prohibited from entering or being present during school-related or school-
sponsored activities, upon any property he knows or has reason to know is a public or private
elementary or secondary school or child day center property. Sexually violent offenses are defined in
8 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia. See, Chapter 648 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective July 1,
2011,

SB 927 (Senator McDougle): Sex Offender Registry& Affidavits. SB 927 88 18.2-472.1 and 19.2-
188.3 of the Code of Virginia relating to sex offender registry and affidavits. SB 927 clarifies several
provisions regarding the use of an affidavit in a criminal proceeding for failure to register as a sex
offender. The bill makes it clear that the Melendez-Diaz procedures do not have to be followed for a
preliminary hearing and that in preliminary hearings the Commonwealth is not responsible for
summoning the custodian of the records issuing the affidavit. See, Chapter 285 of the 2011 Acts of
Assembly. Effective on July 1 2011.

HB 1698 (Delegate Athey) and SB 1275 (Senator Obenshain): Sexually Violent Predators &
Mental Health Examination. HB 1698 and SB 1275 amend 88 37.2-901, 37.2-906, 37.2-907, and
37.2-910 of the Code of Virginia relating to sexually violent predators. HB 1698 and SB 1275 allows
a respondent who has refused to cooperate with a mental health examination required pursuant to 8
37.2-904 to rescind his refusal and elect to cooperate with the mental health examination within 21
days of retaining counsel or appointment of counsel. Section 37.2-910 of the Code of Virginia requires
the committing court to conduct a review hearing relating to assess the continuation of secure inpatient
treatment hearing. HB 1698 and SB 1275 allows the hearing for assessment to be conducted using a
two-way electronic video and audio communication system that meets standards set forth in subsection
B of § 19.2-3.1 (Personal appearance by two-way electronic video and audio communication;
standards.). See, Chapters 446 and 448 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. Effective on July 1, 2011.



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2066
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1185
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2066
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1185
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-370.5
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2066
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1185
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1185
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-370.5
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+9.1-902
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1318
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1318
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-370.5
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1318
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+9.1-902
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0648
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB927
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB927
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-472.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-188.3
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-188.3
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB927
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0285
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0285
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1698
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1275
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1698
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1275
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-901
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-906
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-907
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-910
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1698
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1275
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-904
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-910
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB1698
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1275
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-3.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+ful+CHAP0448
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DJJ OPERATIONS BILL

HB 2076 (Delegate Landes) and SB 1477 (Senator Stosch): Governor’s State Inspector General’s
Report. HB 2076 and SB 1477 create the Office of the State Inspector General, which shall be headed
by a State Inspector General who is appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the General
Assembly. Effective July 1, 2012, HB 2076 and SB 1477 will transfer the functions and duties of the
Inspector General Offices for the Departments of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services,
Corrections, Juvenile Justice, and Transportation to the State Office of the Inspector General. The
powers and duties of the State Internal Auditor are included in the transfer to the Office of the State
Inspector General. See, HB 2076 (Chapter 798 of 2011 Acts of Assembly) and SB 1477 (Chapter 871
of 2011 Acts of Assembly).

» A 5" enactment clause states: “That the Governor, on or before December 31, 2011, shall, in
consultation with impacted stakeholders, complete a plan for the coordination and oversight of
the internal audit programs to the Office of the State Inspector General. This plan shall consider
where transfer of the internal audit program to the Office is necessary or when a dual reporting
structure is most practicable.”



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2076
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1477
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2076
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1477
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2076
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1477
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+HB2076
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1477
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+sum+SB1477
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STUDIES AND REPORTS

Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ):

Juvenile Offender Demographics Report. DJJ shall consolidate the annual reporting
requirements in 88 2.2-222 and 66-13 of the Code of Virginia and in Chapters 755 and 914 of
the 1996 Acts of Assembly concerning juvenile offender demographics. The consolidated
annual report shall address the progress of the Virginia Juvenile Community Crime Control Act
(VJCCCA) programs including the requirements in Article 12.1 of Chapter 11 of Title 16.1 (8§
16.1-309.2 et seq.) relating to the number of juveniles served, the average cost for residential
and nonresidential services, the number of employees, and descriptions of the contracts entered
into by localities. Notwithstanding any other provisions of the Code of Virginia, the
consolidated report shall be submitted to the Governor, the General Assembly, the Chairmen of
the House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees, the Secretary of Public Safety, and
the Department of Planning and Budget by the first day of the regular General Assembly
Session. See Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly (HB 1500, Appropriations Act, Item
399(G) and 88 2.2-222 and 66-13(D) of the Code of Virginia.

Virginia Juvenile Community Crime Control Act (VJCCCA) Recidivism Report. DJJ,
with the assistance of the Department of Correctional Education (DCE), the Department of
Corrections (DOC), the Virginia Council on Juvenile Detention, juvenile court service unit
directors, juvenile and domestic relations district court judges, and juvenile justice advocacy
groups, shall provide a report on the types of programs supported by the VJCCCA and whether
the youth participating in such programs are statistically less likely to be arrested, adjudicated
or convicted, or incarcerated for either misdemeanors or crimes that would otherwise be
considered felonies if committed by an adult. The report is due October, 1 2011. See Chapter
890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly (HB 1500, Appropriations Act, Item 399 (F)(3)(d)).

Juvenile Correctional Centers & Detention Bed Space Utilization and Re-entry Report.
DJJ shall prepare a report on the future of juvenile correctional centers (JCCs) in the
Commonwealth. The report shall include: (1) an analysis of JCC utilization rates; (2) an
analysis of local and regional secure juvenile detention center utilization rates; (3) a
determination of the appropriate number and types of beds, including security levels, necessary
to manage the projected state-responsible and local-responsible juvenile population; and (4) an
analysis of options for providing regional transitional programs and re-entry services at selected
local and regional secure juvenile detention facilities.

The report shall address the prospect of implementing a plan for (1) the closing of one JCC and
reallocating the cost savings to regional transitional programs and re-entry services at selected
local and regional secure juvenile detention facilities; and (2) identifying funding to be
transferred for the purpose of reinvesting in such programs and services. The report shall detail
the feasibility and core components of such a plan and shall include a fiscal analysis of the
impact on localities and on DJJ. The fiscal analysis shall address state responsibilities related
to transportation, education, medication, assistance to support security services provided
directly by the juvenile detention facility, and comprehensive programming provided on a
contractual basis by private, for-profit, and non-profit providers based on evidenced-based
practices.



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+bud+11-399
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+bud+11-399
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-222
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+66-13
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+bud+21-399
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The report shall be provided to the Governor, the Secretary of Public Safety, and the Chairmen
of the Senate Finance and House Appropriations Committees on or before October 1, 2011.
See Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly (HB 1500, Appropriations Act, Item 400 (D)).

Supreme Court:

Judicial Districts Reorganization. The Executive Office of the Supreme Court is studying the
existing boundary lines for Virginia's judicial circuits and districts. This review is in lieu of
passing HB 1990 and SB 1240 (New Judicial Districts) during the 2011 General Assembly
Session and is due to the General Assembly by November 1, 2011. The Supreme Court
comprised a study committee of 20 members consisting of judges, clerks, attorneys, and a chief
magistrate. The Supreme Court expects to offer an alternative plan for redistricting as opposed
to the plan contemplated under HB 1990 and SB 1240. In addition to requesting written
comments, six town hall meetings will be held this summer in the following areas: Northern
Virginia, Central Virginia, Hampton Roads, Shenandoah Valley, Southside Virginia, and
Southwest Virginia. See HB 1990 and SB 1240 (New Judicial Boundaries). Letter from
Senator Marsh, Chair of Senate Courts.

Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS):

Study of Education and Training Services in Adult Jails & Juvenile Detention. DCJS, in
coordination with DCE, shall conduct a study of the education and training services that are
available in local jails and juvenile detention centers. The study shall examine the level and
types of such services available as well as the barriers to providing such services and the gaps
in service provision. It shall also determine the amounts and types of funding provided for
such services. See Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly (HB 1500, Appropriations Act,
Item 384(l) New Language).

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS):

Children's Mental Health Services (Inpatient and Community-Based). The Commissioner
of DBHDS shall establish a planning process to identify concrete steps to provide children's
mental health services, both inpatient and community-based, as close to children's homes as
possible. The planning process will produce a comprehensive plan that ensures there are child-
centered services, both inpatient and community-based, delivered at the community level in
every Health Planning Region in the Commonwealth. The target populations to be addressed in
this plan are children through age 17 who (1) have a mental health problem, (2) may have co-
occurring mental health and substance abuse problems, (3) may be in contact with the juvenile
justice or courts systems, (4) may require emergency services, or (5) may require long-term
community mental health and other supports. The planning process should identify the mental
health and substance abuse services that are needed to help families keep their children at home
and functioning in the community and should define the role that the Commonwealth Center
for Children and Adolescents will play in this effort. The plan should establish and rank
recommendations based on greatest priority and identify future funding associated with each
recommendation. See Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly (HB 1500, Appropriations
Act, Item 304(M)).



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+bud+21-400
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+HB1990
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?111+sum+SB1240
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+bud+11-384
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?111+bud+11-304
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Also see in Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly:

> Item 304 (E) (2011) Public-Private Partnerships for Mental Health Residential Beds
for Juveniles. DBHDS, in cooperation with DJJ, where appropriate, shall identify and
create opportunities for public-private partnerships and develop the incentives necessary to
establish and maintain an adequate supply of residential beds for the treatment of juveniles
with behavioral health treatment needs, including those who are mentally retarded,
aggressive, or sex offenders, and those juveniles who need short-term crisis stabilization but
not psychiatric hospitalization.

» ltem 304 (D) (2011) Public-Private Partnerships for Acute-Care Psychiatric Beds for
Children. DBHDS shall identify and create opportunities for public-private partnerships
and develop the incentives necessary to establish and maintain an adequate supply of acute-
care psychiatric beds for children and adolescents.

> Item 304 (F) (2011) Restoration Services for Incompetent Juveniles. Out of this
appropriation, $656,538 the first year and $656,538 the second year shall be provided from
the General Fund for placement and restoration services for juveniles found to be
incompetent to stand trial pursuant to Title 16.1, Chapter 11, Article 18, of the Code of
Virginia.

Community Services Board (CSB) Study. DBHDS shall submit a report to the Governor and
the Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees no later than
December 1 of each year for the preceding fiscal year that provides information on the
operation of Virginia's publicly funded behavioral health and developmental services system.
The report shall include a brief narrative and data on the numbers of individuals receiving state
facility services or CSB services, including purchased inpatient psychiatric services; the types
and amounts of services received by these individuals; and CSB and state facility service
capacities, staffing, revenues, and expenditures. The annual report also shall describe major
new initiatives implemented during the past year and shall provide information on the
accomplishment of systemic outcome and performance measures during the year. The first
annual report shall be submitted no later than December 1, 2010, for FY2010. See Chapter 890
of the 2011 Acts of Assembly (HB 1500, Appropriations Act, Item 304 (N)).

Formulary for the Dispensing of Medications to Released Offenders. DBHDS, in
coordination with DOC, DJJ, the Virginia Sheriffs' Association, and the Virginia Regional Jail
Association, shall develop a formulary for the dispensing of medications to offenders who have
been released from prisons, JCCs, and jails that will provide consistency as those offenders
move from incarceration in the criminal justice system to being served by community
behavioral health programs. See Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly (HB 1500,
Appropriations Act, Item 304 (O)).
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Virginia State Crime Commission:

Study on Compliance with National Sex Offender Registry Requirements. Senate Joint
Resolution 348 directs the Crime Commission to study compliance with the federal
requirements regarding Virginia's Sex Offender Registry, examine the effectiveness of the
Registry in preventing sexual victimization, and determine the feasibility of implementing a
tiered system.

> Also see Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly (HB 1500 Appropriations Act, ltem
408(H)(2)), State Police Study of the Sex Offender Registry Study. The Secretary of Public
Safety, in conjunction with the Superintendent of State Police, shall report on the
implementation of the monitoring of offenders required to comply with the Sex Offender
Registry requirements.

Unlawful Solicitation of a Child by an Adult Study. By letter, Senate Courts requested the
Crime Commission to study the intent of HB 2396. HB 2396 would provide that any adult
who, by an offer of something of value or by misrepresentation of his identity, lures or entices a
minor who is three or more years younger than the adult to enter a motor vehicle is guilty of a
Class 1 misdemeanor. There would be rebuttable presumption that the prohibition does not
apply to any law-enforcement officer in the performance of his duties, to any family or
household member or guardian of the minor, or to any person who has permission, granted by
an adult family member of the minor or the guardian of the minor, to transport the minor. See
HB 2396 (R.B. Bell)(Letter from the Senate).

Department of Education (DOE):

Study on Antibullying School Policies. DOE is to study the nature and effectiveness of local
school divisions' antibullying policies. In conducting its study, DOE shall (1) review and
compare antibullying measures in the student codes of conduct from each school division, (1)
compare existing policies with the its model policy for codes of student conduct, and (3)
determine if improvements to existing policies are warranted in order to more effectively
combat bullying in Virginia's public schools. The report is due the first day of the 2012
General Assembly Session. See House Joint Resolution 625 (R.B. Bell). Please note: In lieu of
passing HB 1576 (Bullying as a Class 1 Misdemeanor), House Subcommittee on Criminal Law
requested that the intent of HB 1576 be incorporated into the study.
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Department of Social Services (DSS):

Report of Consolidation of Local ""Human Services Buildings." The Commissioner of
DSS, in consultation with relevant state and local agencies, shall develop proposed criteria for
assessing funding requests for addressing space needs among local departments of social
services as well as proposed consolidated human services buildings. DSS shall forward a
prioritized list of projects to the Secretary of Health and Human Resources and the Department
of Planning and Budget by November 1 of each year for consideration by the Governor in the
development of the budget. DSS also shall submit a copy of the list of prioritized projects by
November 1 of each year to the Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance
Committees. See Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly (HB 1500 Appropriations Act,
Item 335 (C)).

> Also see HB 1500 Appropriations Act, Item 335 (B), Consolidate Local Departments. It is
the intent of the General Assembly that the Commissioner of DSS shall work with localities
that seek to voluntarily merge and consolidate their respective local departments of social
services. No funds appropriated under this Act shall be used to require a locality to merge
or consolidate local departments of social services.
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INTERESTING JUVENILE JUSTICE BILLS THAT FAILED IN COMMITTEE

The Crime Commission’s Study on the Juvenile Transfer Statutes: The Virginia State Crime
Commission completed a two-year review of the transfer and certification statutes pertaining to trying
a juvenile as an adult prior to the 2011 session of the General Assembly. In addition, the Crime
Commission was sent two bills by the 2010 session of the General Assembly to study and make
recommendations before the 2011 session. As a result, three bills with dramatically divergent intent
were introduced during the 2011 session of the General Assembly.

» SB 822 (Senator Edwards): Juvenile’s Right to Appeal Prosecutor’s Discretionary
Transfer to Circuit Court. The intent of SB 822 was to amend § 16.1-269.6 of the Code of
Virginia to provide for a juvenile’s right to appeal to the circuit court, within seven days, the
attorney for the Commonwealth’s decision to certify that juvenile’s case to the circuit court for
trial as an adult under the provisions of subsection C of § 16.1-269.1 of the Code of Virginia.
Under current law, certifications for trial in circuit court under subsection C are not appealable
and there is no right to judicial review or oversight. As provided in the bill, if the juvenile
appeals the decision of the attorney for the Commonwealth, then the circuit court would
“examine all such papers, reports and orders and conduct a hearing to take further evidence on
the issue of transfer, to determine if there has been substantial compliance with subsection A of
§ 16.1-269.1, but without redetermining whether the juvenile court had sufficient evidence to
find probable cause.” The appeal process would be the same as that presently available for
transfers of any felony case pursuant to subsection A of § 16.1-269.1 of the Code of Virginia.
The Crime Commission rejected approving SB 822 for submission during the 2010 General
Assembly; however, the patron introduced the bill. SB 822 passed the Senate but was “left” in
the House Committee on Courts of Justice.

» SB 914 (Senator McDougle) Expanding the Offenses for Transferring a Juvenile to
Circuit Court. The intent of SB 914 was to amend subsection B of § 16.1-269.1 of the Code
of Virginia by adding violent felonies as defined in § 19.2-297.1 of the Code of Virginia to the
list of offenses for which a juvenile who is 14 years of age or older will be mandated to be
certified to stand trial as an adult in circuit court if the juvenile has been previously adjudicated
delinquent for an offense defined as an act of violence in 8§ 19.2-297.1. SB 914 also amends
subsection C of § 16.1-269.1 of the Code of Virginia to add to the list of offenses for which the
Commonwealth’s attorney may request that a juvenile be certified to stand trial as an adult in
circuit court. The juvenile court must establish probable cause prior to certifying the charge,
and all ancillary charges, to the grand jury. The Crime Commission approved endorsing SB
914 for submission in the 2011 General Assembly session. SB 914 was “‘passed by
indefinitely”” in the Senate Committee for Courts of Justice (10-Y 5-N).

» SB 948 (Senator Howell) - Juvenile Adjudication in Circuit Court. The intent of SB 948
was to amend § 16.1-272 of the Code of Virginia pertaining to the circuit court’s authority to
sentence a juvenile convicted as an adult. The bill gives the circuit court, in cases involving
juveniles transferred or certified for trial as an adult from a juvenile court, the authority to defer
the imposition of a final sentence and place the juvenile on supervised probation. If the
juvenile successfully fulfills all probation requirements, the circuit court may modify the guilty
conviction and impose a juvenile adjudication of delinquency. The bill makes the decision to
modify the finding from a conviction to an adjudication of delinquency discretionary. The
Crime Commission approved endorsing SB 948 for submission in the 2011 General Assembly
session. SB 948 passed the Senate but was “left” in the House Committee on Courts of Justice.
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HB 1980 (Delegate Greason): Definition of Violent Juvenile Felony to Include Conspiracy and
Attempts. The intent of HB 1980 was to amend 8§ 16.1-228 and 16.1-269.1 of the Code of Virginia
to expand the definition of a violent juvenile felony to include any conspiracy to commit or any
attempt to commit a violent juvenile felony by a juvenile 14 years of age or older. Section 16.1-228 of
the Code of Virginia defines a "violent juvenile felony" as meaning any of the delinquent acts
enumerated in subsection B or C of § 16.1-269.1 of the Code of Virginia when committed by a
juvenile 14 years of age or older. Under the provisions of this bill, a juvenile who is 14 years of age or
older who conspires or attempts to commit an offense listed in subsection B of § 16.1-269.1 of the
Code of Virginia will be mandated to be certified to stand trial as an adult in circuit court. Under the
provisions of this bill, the Commonwealth’s attorney may request that a juvenile be certified to stand
trial as an adult in circuit court if he conspires or attempts to commit an offense listed in subsection C
of § 16.1-269.1 of the Code of Virginia. HB 1980 was “left” in the House Committee on Courts of
Justice.

HB 1807 (Delegate Surovell) Single Petition for Child Custody and Visitation Cases in JDR
Court. The intent of HB 1807 was to amend 8 16.1-260 of the Code of Virginia, relating to a single
petition for child custody or visitation cases. Specifically, a single petition could be filed with regard
to any or all custody or visitation issues for a child, and a single petition could be filed with regard to
such issues for two or more children if such children have the same parents or legal guardians.
Initially, the bill passed the House Committee for Courts of Justice (21-Y 1-N) and went to the floor of
the House. However, on the floor, the bill was rereferred to the House Committee for Courts of
Justice. HB 1807 was ““left”” in House Courts with a letter requesting the issue to be studied.

SB 1409 (Senator Stanley) Mandatory Juvenile Sex Offender Registration. The intent of SB 1409
was to make amendments to 88 9.1-902, 9.1-903, 9.1-904, 9.1-913, and 18.2-361 of the Code of
Virginia for the purpose of ensuring that Virginia was in full compliance with the Adam Walsh Child
Protection and Safety Act of 2006 (42 USCS 88 16901 et seq.,). In doing so, SB 1409 attempted to
require all juveniles: (1) 13 years of age or older at the time of the offense, (2) adjudicated delinquent
for any offense requiring registration, and (3) if the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2005, to
register with the sex offender registry. Under current law, juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent of
Registry offenses in juvenile court are not required to register; however, juveniles who were over the
age of 13 at the time of the offense may be required to register if, upon motion of the Commonwealth’s
attorney, the court finds that the circumstances of the offense require offender registration. The
proposal excludes juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent in juvenile and domestic relations court
from the list of individuals whose information must be disseminated publicly on the Sex Offender and
Crimes against Minors Registry. (See subsection G of § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia). SB 1409
reported out from the Senate Committee on Courts of Justice (15-Y 0-N), but was “left” in the Senate
Committee for Finance.

HB 1576 (Delegate Ebbin) Definition of Bullying & Class 1 Misdemeanor. The intent of HB 1576
was to amend § 18.2-56 of the Code of Virginia relating to bullying and hazing. The intent was to (i)
define “bullying” to mean recklessly or intentionally endangering the health or safety of a student by
exposing the student repeatedly and over time to physical aggression or intimidation, whether through
direct physical contact or through the use of information or communication technology, resulting in
bodily injury or other harm to person or property and (ii) make such conduct punishable as a Class 1
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misdemeanor. HB 1576 was “left”” in the House Committee for Courts of Justice with the intent that
HB 1576 be incorporated into the study on bullying as required by House Joint Resolution 625.

HB 1448 (Delegate Greason) Juvenile Court: Deferred and Dismissed Cases Ineligible for
Expungement of Court Records. The intent of HB 1448 was to amend § 16.1-306 of the Code of
Virginia relating to the destruction of juvenile and domestic relations court files and records and
notification of expungement. The bill would prohibit the expungement of juvenile court files and
records in delinquency and traffic cases where the case was deferred and subsequently dismissed
following the satisfaction of any terms and conditions imposed by the court. HB 1448 was “left in the
House Committee for Courts of Justice.

HB 1488 (Delegate Hope) Prohibiting the Use of Restraints on those who are Pregnant. The
intent of HB 1488 was to create § 53.1-1.1:1 of the Code of Virginia relating to the use of restraints on
pregnant prisoners. HB 1488 prohibits any “state, regional, local, or juvenile correctional facility”
from using “restraints on any prisoner who is pregnant during labor, transport to a medical facility,
delivery, or postpartum recovery.” HB 1488 incorporates an exception to this prohibition when the
“warden, superintendent, or jailor finds there is a compelling reason to believe that the prisoner poses
serious harm to herself or others, is a flight risk, or cannot be reasonably restrained by other means.”
HB 1488 requires the facility to use the “least restrictive restraints necessary on any inmate in the
second or third trimester of pregnancy.” The bill was consistent with DJJ’s current practice and
procedure and would have minimal impact on DJJ or the juvenile justice system. HB 1488 was
“tabled” in the House Committee for Militia, Police and Public Safety.

HB 1616 (Delegate Ward) Exposing a Juvenile to Assault and Battery of a Family or Household
Member. The intent of HB 1616 was to amend § 18.2-57.2 of the Code of Virginia relating to assault
and battery against family or household member when a juvenile is present. HB 1616 would create a
new Class 1 misdemeanor to punish an adult having a custodial relationship over a juvenile who
knowingly allows the juvenile to be present during, to see, or to hear, an assault and battery of a family
or household member. As drafted, the bill applied to any adult in a custodial relationship with the
juvenile. Therefore, the scope of the bill went beyond family members and extended family members.
The abuse had to be against a family member, but the person exposing the child to the abuse did not
necessarily need to be a family member. As drafted, the victim of the family abuse could be guilty of a
Class 1 misdemeanor if the victim allowed the child to be present during the assault.

HB 2445 (Delegate Cosgrove) Juvenile CCRE Information Disseminated to U.S. Attorney
General. HB 2445 amends § 19.2-389.1 of the Code of Virginia relating to the dissemination of
juvenile record information. The bill provides that, for purposes of a determination as provided in §8
18.2-308.2 and 18.2-308.2:2 (Records checks for possession and purchase, respectively) of eligibility
to possess or purchase a firearm, juvenile record information maintained in the Central Criminal
Records Exchange (CCRE) pursuant to the provisions of § 16.1-299 (Fingerprints and photographs of
juveniles) shall be disseminated only to the Virginia State Police (VSP) or the Attorney General of the
United States. Currently, there are no named recipients.
> Effect of this bill: This bill would result in the information relating to all felony adjudications
of delinquency being provided to the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s National Criminal
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Information Center (NCIC) *. This information would not be maintained separately from other
NCIC records and would be subject to release in accordance with federal requirements (which
includes all federal criminal background checks). The juvenile adjudication information would
be available, subject to the federal controls, on all background checks (including pre-
employment screening by public and private employers).

SB 821 (Senator Edwards) Creation of the State Office of the Children's Ombudsman. The intent
of SB 821 was to create the State Office of the Children’s Ombudsman. The bill creates the Office to
provide ombudsman services, including performing inspections of, conducting investigation of
complaints relating to, advocating for and providing information to children, parents, and citizens
involved with child-serving agencies, which include the Departments of Social Services, Juvenile
Justice, Education, Correctional Education, Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, Health;
the Office of Comprehensive Services for At-Risk Youth and Families; and local entities that receive
funding from a state child-serving agency. A version of this bill has been introduced each session
since 2006. The fiscal implications present a significant obstacle for enactment. The 2010 fiscal
impact statement estimated the phase-in implementation plan for creation of the Office would be
$334,492 in the first year; $696,940 in the second year; and $840,740 thereafter. SB 821 passed the
Senate, but without funding. On the House side, SB 821 was “left” in the House Committee for
General Laws.

HB 2214 (Delegate McQuinn) The Department of Criminal Justice Services to Develop Plan for
Prevention of Juvenile Delinquency. The intent of HB 2214 was to require Department of Criminal
Justice Services (DCJS) and its Board to develop a comprehensive, statewide, long-range plan for the
prevention of juvenile delinquency in the Commonwealth. The issue became whether the bill was
duplicative of existing Juvenile Justice Board authorities and duties and the current duties and
responsibilities of the Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice under DCJS. Section 66-10 (2) of the
Code of Virginia gives the Board the power and the duty “to ensure the development and
implementation of a long-range youth services policy” to guide the Commonwealth’s juvenile justice
system. The Board last amended its “Long-Range Youth Services Policy” on April 8, 2009. In
developing a comprehensive long-range policy to guide the Commonwealth’s juvenile justice system,
the Board and the Department of Juvenile Justice consult and coordinate planning with the Advisory
Committee on Juvenile Justice and DCJS. HB 2214 was “left” in the House Committee for Militia,
Police and Public Safety.

L' NCIC is a computerized index of criminal justice information (i.e., criminal record history information, fugitives, stolen property,
missing persons). It is available to federal, state, and local law enforcement and other criminal justice agencies for the purpose of
providing prompt disclosure of information in the system. Criminal history data is disseminated to non-criminal justice agencies for use
in connection with licensing for local/state employment or other uses but only where such dissemination is authorized by federal or state
statutes and approved by the Attorney General of the United States. This information was obtained from http://www.fbi.gov/about-
us/cjis/ncic/ncic and http://www.fas.org/irp/agency/doj/fbi/is/ncic.htm.
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