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JUVENILE JUSTICE LEGISLATION 

 

HB 668 (Brink) / SB 134 (Favola): Independent living services, releases from the 

Department of Juvenile Justice between 18 and 21 years of age.   

Issue:  During the 2013 General Assembly session HB 1743 (Brink) and SB 863 (Favola) 

passed and outlined the process for juveniles, who were in the custody of a local 

department of social services immediately preceding their commitment to the Department 

of Juvenile Justice and over the age of 18 at the time of release, to access independent 

living services upon release. Although the bills passed, along with a budget amendment 

to fund the services, the language did not require the local departments of social services 

to make independent services available. 

Current Law:  Provides that local departments of social services and child-placing 

agencies may provide independent living services to any person between 18 and 21 years 

of age who is transitioning from a commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice to 

self-sufficiency when such individual was in the custody of the local department of social 

services immediately prior to the commitment. 

Effect of the Bills:  The bills amend § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia by striking the 

permissive “may” and inserting the directive “shall.” Local departments of social services 

and child-placing agencies are now required to provide independent living services to 

any person between 18 and 21 years of age who is transitioning from a commitment to 

the Department of Juvenile Justice to self-sufficiency when the person (1) was in the 

custody of the local department of social services immediately prior to his commitment, 

(2) provides written notice of his or her intent to receive independent living services, (3) 

and enters into a written agreement for independent living services with the local board of 

social services or child-placing agency within 60 days of his or release from the 

Department of Juvenile Justice.  

HB 1002 (Head) / SB 391 (Vogel): Department of Criminal Justice Services Committee on 

Training, adds the Director of the Department of Juvenile Justice.    

Issue:   During the 2012 General Assembly session, HB 273 and SB 293 passed and 

amended § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia to require the Virginia Department of 

Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) to develop compulsory minimum entry-level, in-

service, and advanced training standards for juvenile correctional officers employed by 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb668
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb134
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-905.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb1002
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb391
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+9.1-102
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juvenile correctional facilities operated by or under the authority of the Department of 

Juvenile Justice. Additionally, DCJS was required to establish the timeline for 

completion of the trainings. 

Current Law:  Section 9.1-112 of the Code of Virginia establishes a Committee on 

Training (COT) under the Criminal Justice Services Board and identifies the number and 

members of the COT by agency, organization, and association. COT oversees the 

Criminal Justice Services Board’s training standards development and review processes. 

The Department of Juvenile Justice is not represented on the COT.  

Effect of the Bills: The bills amend § 9.1-112 of the Code of Virginia and increase the 

membership of the COT from 14 to 15 members by adding the Director of the 

Department of Juvenile Justice.  The bills ensure juvenile-specific issues are identified as 

training standards are developed.  

HB 1069 (Taylor): Department of Human Resource Management, grievance procedures 

for employees of the Departments of Corrections and Juvenile Justice.  

Current Law: Section 2.2-3007 of the Code of Virginia provides that employees of the 

Departments of Corrections or Juvenile Justice, who are terminated due to client/resident 

abuse, criminal conviction, or placement on probation for a certain first drug offenses 

(see § 18.2-251), “may appeal their termination only through the grievance resolution 

steps.” If no resolution is achieved at the last grievance step, the employee may appeal to 

the circuit court.   

Issue: The Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) exempts these 

specific terminations from having to proceed through a grievance hearing. However, 

inclusion of the term “grievance resolution steps” appears to require the entire grievance 

procedure for any termination to be followed (see § 2.2-3003 requiring either three 

successively higher grievance resolution steps and a formal hearing or, if the termination 

is due to formal discipline or unsatisfactory job performance, a formal hearing without 

the three steps). The bill was submitted by DHRM to clarify that the DHRM procedure 

eliminating the three steps and the formal hearing shall be followed for these 

terminations (abuse, conviction, probation for drug offenses) 

Effect of the Bill: Clarifies that employees of the Departments of Corrections and 

Juvenile Justice may appeal terminations for abuse, criminal convictions, and certain first 

drug offenses under an applicable grievance process that may be different from the 

standard grievance procedure for other types of cases. The terminated employee is not 

entitled to a grievance hearing and must appeal straight to the circuit court.  

  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+9.1-112
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+9.1-112
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb1069
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3007
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-251
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3003
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JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS DISTRICT COURTS 

AND OTHER COURT PROCESSES 

 

HB 171 (Farrell): Crime victims’ rights; offenses by juveniles.  

Current Law:  Section 16.1-309.1 of the Code of Virginia permits the court, at the 

request of the victim of a delinquent act that would be a felony if committed by an adult, 

to order the victim be informed of the offense or offenses petitioned, the findings of the 

court, and the disposition of the case. Additionally, § 16.1-300 allows the Department of 

Juvenile Justice to release confidential juvenile records and information with any person 

or agency with a legitimate interest in the case if ordered by the court. No specific 

provision relating to victim notification authorizes the sharing of misdemeanor 

delinquency information.   

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends §§ 16.1-309.1 and 19.2-11.01 of the Code of Virginia 

and expands the list of offenses for which a victim of a delinquent act committed by a 

juvenile may request to be informed of the offense or offenses petitioned, the findings of 

the court, and the disposition of the case. The added offenses are:  

 § 16.1-253.2. Violation of provisions of protective orders 

 § 18.2-57. Assault and battery 

 § 18.2-57.2. Assault and battery against a family or household member 

 § 18.2-60.3. Stalking 

 § 18.2-60.4. Violation of protective orders 

 § 18.2-67.4. Sexual battery 

 § 18.2-67.5. Attempted rape, forcible sodomy, object sexual penetration, 

aggravated sexual battery, and sexual battery 

The bill also provides that the definition of “victim” in § 19.2-11.01 of the Code of 

Virginia for purposes of the Crime Victim and Witness Rights Act includes victims of 

certain delinquent acts. 

 

 

 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb171
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-309.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-300
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-309.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-11.01
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-253.2
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-57
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-57.2
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-60.3
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-60.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.5
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-11.01
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HB 183 (Farrell) / SB 128 (Favola): Commitment of juveniles to the Department of Juvenile 

Justice; consideration of social history.    

Current Law: Section 16.1-273 of the Code of Virginia allows the juvenile or circuit 

court, post adjudication and before final disposition, to order the Department of Juvenile 

Justice or a locally operated court services unit to prepare an investigation (social history 

report) of the juvenile. Section 16.1-278.7 of the Code of Virginia requires the court, if a 

social history had not previously been completed, to order a social history to be 

completed within 15 days of an ordered commitment to the Department of Juvenile 

Justice. The requirement in § 16.1-278.7 is the only circumstance where the completion 

of a social history report is not discretionary.  

Effect of the Bills: The bills amend §§ 16.1-272, 16.1-273, 16.1-278.7, and 16.1-278.8 of 

the Code of Virginia and require a judge to review and take into consideration the 

information provided in a social history report of a juvenile prior to ordering the juvenile 

to be committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice for placement in a juvenile 

correctional center.  

 There is an exception to this requirement in instances where the Commonwealth 

attorney, the attorney for the juvenile, and the juvenile or any other legal 

representative agree to waive the requirement to review and consider the social 

history prior to commitment.   

 Circuit court judges are not required to review a social history prior to sentencing 

a juvenile to commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice.  

 The bills require the Department of Juvenile Justice to develop a model social 

history and guidelines to be used by court services units when preparing a social 

history and to report its progress to the Commission on Youth by the 2015 

General Assembly Session.  

 The bills have a delayed effective date of October 1, 2014.  

Note: The bills are a recommendation of the Virginia Commission on Youth stemming 

from its 2013 Assessment of Mental Health Needs of Juvenile Offenders. 

HB 278 (Albo): Expungement of juvenile and domestic relations district court records.  

Issue:  Section 16.1-306 of the Code of Virginia enumerates when juvenile delinquency 

records may be expunged. The existing language was ambiguous, and there was no 

consensus regarding which adjudications were required to be retained and were eligible 

or required to be expunged.  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb183
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb128
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-273
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-278.7
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-278.7
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-272
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-273
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-278.7
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-278.8
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb278
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-306
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Effect of the Bill: The bill amends § 16.1-306 of the Code of Virginia and clarifies which 

records documenting juvenile adjudications are to be maintained by the juvenile and 

domestic relations district court.  

 The bill requires that when a juvenile is found guilty of an ancillary offense to a 

delinquent act that would be a felony if committed by an adult, the records shall 

be retained. This clarifies that there is an exception to the requirement that all 

misdemeanor delinquent records be expunged.  

 The bill clarifies certain traffic offenses (e.g., driving under the influence in 

violation of § 18.2-266) that must be reported to the Department of Motor 

Vehicles and any offenses ancillary to the traffic offense shall be retained until the 

juvenile has attained the age of 29.  

 The bill clarifies that a person who was the subject of a traffic proceeding and was 

found innocent or the proceeding was otherwise dismissed may file a motion to 

expunge all records relating to the proceeding (current law is clear relating to 

delinquency offenses but ambiguous relating to traffic proceedings).  

HB 359 (Chafin): Jurisdiction; custody and visitation arrangements for minor children; 

persons with legitimate interest.  

Current Law: Section 16.1-241 of the Code of Virginia states that the juvenile and 

domestic relations district court shall not limit custody, visitation, and support cases to 

petitions filed by the mother, father, or legal guardian. The court shall adjudicate petitions 

filed by “any party with a legitimate interest” in the matter. The Code states that the court 

shall broadly construe who may have a legitimate interest and lists relations who shall be 

included. The list does not include step-grandparents but includes grandparents, 

stepparents, former stepparents, blood relatives, and family members.  

Effect of the Bills: The bill adds step-grandparents to the list of persons and parties with 

a legitimate interest involving custody, visitation, and support matters. 

HB 452 (R.B. Bell): Pleas; withdrawal of plea. Recusal.  

Current Law: The decision on whether a judge, who rejects a plea agreement in a 

delinquency or criminal matter, continues to preside over the matter is in the sole 

discretion of the judge.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill creates § 16.1-277.2 of the Code of Virginia (relating to 

delinquency matters) and amends § 19.2-254 (relating to criminal matters) to provide that 

where any judge rejects a plea agreement in a criminal or delinquency matter he shall 

immediately recuse himself from any further proceedings on that matter unless the parties 

agree otherwise. This applies in delinquency and criminal matters.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-306
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-266
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb359
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-241
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb452
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-277.2
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-254
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HB 933 (Watts): Update to child support guidelines.   

Current Law:  Establishes guidelines for monthly child support payments with a 

minimum monthly payment of $65.  In addition to any other child support obligations 

parents are required to pay in proportion to their gross incomes any reasonable and 

necessary unreimbursed medical or dental expenses in excess of $250. The schedule is 

based on 1988 or earlier price levels. 

Effect of the Bill:  The bill amends § 20-108.2 of the Code of Virginia and provides 

updated child support guidelines. 

 The new guidelines specify monthly child support obligation amounts for 

obligors who earn a gross monthly income of up to $35,000, with new guidance 

for gross monthly incomes of $0 - $500; and there is an additional percentage 

added to the child support requirements for gross income above $35,000.  

 The bill allows the court to set a support obligation below the presumptive 

statutory minimum for obligors who earn up to 150 percent of the federal poverty 

level, provided that such lower amount does not seriously impair the custodial 

parent’s ability to maintain minimal adequate housing and provide other basic 

necessities for the child.  

 The bill also removes the $250 floor on reasonable and necessary unreimbursed 

medical or dental expenses that are required to be paid by each parent in 

proportion to their gross incomes.  

 This bill is a recommendation of the Child Support Guidelines Review Panel.  

HB 1013 (Campbell): Record retention in district courts.   

Current Law: Under current law the chief judge of a general district court has the 

authority to destroy the hard copy records if there is an electronic copy. The chief judge 

of a juvenile and domestic relations district court does not have such authority. 

Effect of the Bill: Amends § 16.1-69.55 of the Code of Virginia to permits the chief 

judge of a juvenile and domestic relations district court to direct the clerk of that court to 

destroy documents related to civil and criminal cases that ended three or more years 

prior, provided that the documents have been microfilmed or converted to an electronic 

format.  

  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb933
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+20-108.2
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb1013
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-69.55


DJJ 2014 Legislative Training Manual - Page 11 
 

 

CRIMES (GENERAL)  

 

HB 542 (McQuinn): Wearing masks in certain places; penalty.  

Current Law: It is a Class 6 felony for any person who is older than 16 years of age to 

wear a mask, hood, or other device that hides or covers a substantial portion of his face 

that conceals the identity of the wearer in public or on private property without written 

consent of the owner or tenant except as specifically allowed in the Code of Virginia. 

Exceptions include holiday costumes, employment related protective or safety masks, 

theatrical productions and masquerade balls, and medical or public health necessity. 

Currently, the Code is silent as to the intent of the wearer. 

Effect of the Bill: Amends § 18.2-422 of the Code of Virginia to add an intent element to 

the crime. To be guilty the wearer must have the intent to conceal his identity.   

HB 708 (Gilbert): Assault and battery against a family or household member.  

Current Law: Assault and battery against a family or household member is a Class 1 

misdemeanor. However, assault and battery of a family or household member is a Class 6 

felony if the person had previous been convicted of two offenses involving (1) assault and 

battery of a family or household member; (2) malicious wounding; (3) aggravated 

malicious wounding; (4) malicious bodily injury by means of a substance; or (5) a similar 

offense in another jurisdiction within a 20 year period.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends § 18.2-57.2 of the Code of Virginia to add unlawful 

wounding (in violation of § 18.2-51) and strangulation (in violation of § 18.2-51.6) to the 

list of offenses that, if a person has been previously convicted of two such offenses within 

a 20-year period and such offenses occurred on different dates, enhance the penalty of 

assault and battery against a family or household member from a Class 1 misdemeanor to 

a Class 6 felony. 

HB 810 (Carr) / SB 65 (Marsh): Willful discharge or firearms with no discernible or 

designated target; penalty (Brendon’s Law).  

Current Law: It is a Class 1 misdemeanor to recklessly handle any firearm so as to 

endanger the life, limb, or property of any person.  

Effect of the Bills: The bills amend § 18.2-56.1 of the Code of Virginia to provide that 

any person who (1) handles a firearm in a gross, wanton, and culpable manner which 

shows a reckless disregard for human life and (2) causes the serious bodily injury of 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb542
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-422
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb708
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-57.2
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-51
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-51.6
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb810
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb65
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-56.1
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another person that (3) results in permanent and significant physical impairment is guilty 

of a Class 6 felony. 

Note: The law is in response to the death of a 7-year-old boy during a Fourth of July 

celebration in Chesterfield last year.  

HB 851 (LeMunyon) / SB 570 (Stuart): Assault and battery of school employees.  

Current Law: Generally, assault and battery of any person is a Class 1 misdemeanor 

without any mandatory minimum sentencing requirements. Section 18.2-57 of the Code 

of Virginia makes an assault and battery of any full-time or part-time teacher, principal, 

assistant principal, or guidance counselor of a public or private elementary or secondary 

school subject to a required sentence of 15 days in jail with two days a required 

mandatory minimum sentence. Additionally, if the offense is committed by use of a 

firearm or other weapon prohibited on school property the mandatory minimum sentence 

is six months.  

Effect of the Bills: The bills amend § 18.2-57 and expands the category of school 

employees subject to the enhanced penalties. The bills remove the specific enumeration 

of school employees. The enhanced penalties now apply to any assault and battery of any 

full-time or part-time school employee engaged in the performance of his or her duties.   

HB 976 (Cline): Accessories after the fact to certain homicides.  

Current Law: Every accessory after the fact of a felony offense is a Class 1 

misdemeanor, however certain relations who aid or assist the principal felon or accessory 

before the fact shall not be deemed accessories before the fact. 

Effect of the Bills: The bill amends § 18.2-19 of the Code of Virginia to enhance the 

penalty for persons who aid or assist another person to escape from prosecution or 

punishment after the commission of certain homicides. An accessory after the fact of a 

homicide offense that is punishable by death or as a Class 2 felony is now guilty of a 

Class 6 felony.  

  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb851
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb570
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-57
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-57
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb810
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-19
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CRIMES (SPECIFIC TO MINORS) 

HB 218 (Albo) / SB 96 (Reeves): Purchase of tobacco products by minors; vapor products.  

Current Law: Section 18.2-371.2 of the Code of Virginia prohibits any person from 

selling or distributing tobacco products to any person under the age of 18 years and any 

person less than 18 years of age from attempting to purchase or to purchase any tobacco 

products (e.g., cigarettes and cigars). There are no statutory limitations or restrictions 

related to the sale of nicotine vapor products and alternative nicotine products to or by 

minors. 

The penalty for the seller is a fine as a civil penalty with an escape clause for a retail 

establishment if employees were trained on the prohibitions. The penalty for the minor is 

a fine as a civil penalty of up to $100 for the first violation and $250 for a second or 

subsequent violation or, as an alternative, 20 hours of community service for a first 

violation or 40 hours for a second or subsequent violation. The court may also suspend a 

minor’s license or impose a curfew as provided for in § 16.1-278.8 (A) (9).  

Effect of the Bills:  The bill amends § 18.2-371.2 of the Code of Virginia and adds 

nicotine vapor product and alternative nicotine products to the definition of tobacco 

products that shall not be sold to or purchased or possessed by a minor.  

The bill provides a definition for the following terms: alternative nicotine product, 

nicotine vapor product, and tobacco product. The provisions of this bill do not apply to 

mail or internet sales of tobacco products or nicotine vapor products if prior to the sale 

the vendor verifies the purchaser is at least 18 years old through a commercially available 

database or delivery requires purchaser’s signature verifying age prior to release of the 

product to the purchaser. Current law only provides an exception for internet sales of 

tobacco products, without the additional delivery restriction.  

HB 505 (Hodges) / SB 213 (Carrico): Dextromethorphan Distribution Act; penalty for 

distributing or selling to a minor. 

Current Law: There are no current restrictions or prohibitions relating to the sale of 

Dextromethorphan (one of the active ingredients in many over-the-counter cold and 

cough medicines, including generic labels and store brands, Benylin DM, Mucinex DM, 

Robitussin, NyQuil, Dimetapp, Vicks, Coricidin, Delsym, TheraFlu, and others. 

Dextromethorphan has also found other uses in medicine, ranging from pain relief to 

psychological applications. It is sold in syrup, tablet, spray, and lozenge forms. In its pure 

form, dextromethorphan occurs as a white powder). 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb218
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb96
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-371.2
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-278.8
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-371.2
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb505
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb213
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Over-the-counter_drug
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_cold
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cough
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Generic_drug
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Store_brand
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benylin
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robitussin
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NyQuil
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dimetapp
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vicks
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coricidin
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delsym
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TheraFlu
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pain_relief
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychological
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Throat_lozenge
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Effect of the Bills:   The bills adds a new article numbered 1.3 in Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 

of the Code of Virginia and creates three new sections §§ 18.2-265.19, 18.2-265.20, and 

18.2-265.21. 

 § 18.2-265.19 defines Dextromethorphan as the dextrorotatory isomer of 3-

methoxy-N-methylmophainan and its salts. The section also provides definitions 

for the terms pharmacy, retail distributor and unfinished dextromethorphan.  

 § 18.2-265.20 makes it illegal for any pharmacy or retail distributor to knowingly 

or intentionally sell or distribute any product containing dextromethorphan to a 

minor.  

o The pharmacy or retail distributor is not permitted to sell or distribute a 

product containing dextromethorphan to a purchaser unless a government 

issued document with a photo and date of birth verifying the purchaser is 

at least 18 years old. There is a $25 civil penalty.  The pharmacy is not 

required to request documentation of identification and age if the 

purchaser appears to be 25 years of age or older.  

o Failing to require the purchaser present identification is subject to a $25 

civil penalty after receipt of notice of noncompliance.  

o It is illegal for a minor to knowingly or intentionally purchase any product 

containing dextromethorphan. There is a $25 civil penalty.  

 § 18.2-265.21 states a person who distributes or possesses with the intent to 

distribute unfinished dextromethorphan is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

 The bill has a delayed effective date of January 1, 2015.  

Notes:  

 When exceeding label-specified maximum dosages, dextromethorphan acts as a 

dissociative hallucinogen. Its mechanism of action is via multiple effects, 

including actions as a nonselective serotonin reuptake inhibitor and a sigma-1 

receptor agonist. 

 Unfinished dextromethorphan means that substance that is represented for use, 

and that, when used in the compounding, manufacturing, processing, or packaging 

of a drug, becomes an active ingredient or a finished dosage form of the drug; 

however, “bulk drug substance” shall not include intermediates that are used in 

the synthesis of such substances. 

 

  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-265.19
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-265.20
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-265.21
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-265.19
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-265.20
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-265.21
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dissociative
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hallucinogen
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mechanism_of_action
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serotonin_reuptake_inhibitor
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sigma-1_receptor
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sigma-1_receptor
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TRAFFIC OFFENSES (SPECIFIC TO MINORS) 

 

 

HB 996 (Bulova) Driver’s licenses’ applicant less than 19 years old.  

Current Law: The Code of Virginia  permits and  individual at least 16 years and three 

months old but less than 18 years old, to apply for and receive a temporary driver’s 

license valid for six months if he (i) certifies by signing, together with his parent or 

guardian, on a form prescribed by the Commissioner of the Department of Motor 

Vehicles (DMV) that he is a resident of the Commonwealth; (ii) is the holder of a valid 

driver’s license from another state and (iii) has not been found guilty of or otherwise 

responsible for an offense involving the operation of a motor vehicle. No temporary 

license issued under this subsection shall be renewed, nor shall any second or subsequent 

temporary license under this subsection be issued to the same applicant without 

successfully completing a state approved driver education course.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends § 46.2-334 of the Code of Virginia and changes the 

age requirement for receiving a temporary driver’s license from 16 years and three 

months old but less than 18 years old to 16 years and three months old but less than 19 

years old. The parent’s signature is now only required, if applicable; and, if the applicant 

is a current driver, the individual’s current valid driver’s license can now be from any 

U.S. state, U.S. territory, Canadian province, or Canadian territory. Current law only 

permitted the current valid driver’s license to be from a U.S. state.  

 New language has been added to address the requirements for obtaining a 

permanent driver’s license when the applicant has transferred to Virginia from 

another U.S. state, any U.S. territory, Canadian province, or Canadian territory.  

o Documentation of at least 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of 

in-car instruction from a government-approved program in the other U.S. 

state, U.S. territory, or Canadian province or territory.  

o If a transfer applicant successfully completes a government-approved 

classroom and in-car driver education program from another state or any U.S. 

territory, Canadian province, or Canadian territory, the applicant must present 

the certificate of completion, specifying the number of instructional hours, to 

the DMV. 

 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb996
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+46.2-334
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SB 205 (McWaters): Licensure and examination for persons age 19 or older. 

Current Law: Current law allows individuals age 19 or over (i) to obtain a learner’s 

permit and hold such permit for 60 days and then take a behind-the-wheel examination 

administered by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or (ii) to take driver’s 

education and then take a behind-the-wheel examination administered by the DMV. 

Individuals seeking a commercial driver’s license or on medical review must take their 

behind-the-wheel examination administered by the DMV. Individuals who fail the 

behind-the-wheel test three times at DMV must return to DMV to take the test after 

completing requirements at a driver training school. 

 

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends §§ 46.2-324.1, 46.2-325, 46.2-334, and 46.2-1702 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

 

 § 46.2-324.1: Allows individuals age 19 or over the option of taking the behind-

the-wheel examination at a driver training school (approved by DMV or the 

Department of Education) as long as they complete the current requirements 

already in place for persons under 19.  

 § 46.2-325: Requires the DMV to administer the applicable examination after 

successful completion of the necessary courses to all individuals required to 

attend a driver training school.  

 § 46.2-334: The bill also changes the word “minor” to students to allow students 

who are not minors the ability to take driver’s education and behind-the-wheel 

examinations with their school or with a driver training school.  

 § 46.2-1702: Class A licensees are prohibited from administering knowledge or 

behind-the wheel examinations. 

 

 

 

 

  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb205
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+46.2-324.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+46.2-325
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+46.2-334
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+46.2-1702
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+46.2-324.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+46.2-325
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+46.2-334
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+46.2-1702
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CRIMES (SEXUAL) AND SEX OFFENDERS 

 

HB 235 (R.B. Bell) / SB 454 (Obenshain): Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors 

Registry Act; solicitation of prostitution; pandering; minors.  

Current Law: The Code of Virginia requires individuals convicted of certain offenses to 

register on the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry. The Code also makes 

pandering a Class 4 felony.  

Effect of the Bills: The bills amend §§ 9.1-902 and 18.2-355 of the Code of Virginia to 

add any felony solicitation of prostitution from a minor (violation of § 18.2-346) and any 

pandering involving a minor (new offense added to § 18.2-355) to the offenses requiring 

registration on the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act. The bills also 

clarify that a person who engages in pandering involving a minor is guilty of a Class 4 

felony. 

Note: Pandering involves taking or persuading, encouraging, or causing a person to enter 

a bawdy place or causing a person to be taken to any place for prostitution. A bawdy 

place is defined as any place within or without any building or structure which is used or 

is to be used for lewdness, assignation, or prostitution.  

HB 326 (R.B. Bell): Unlawful dissemination or sale of images of another (“revenge porn”).  

Current Law: It is unlawful to knowingly and intentionally videotape, photograph, or 

film or create any video graphic or still image of any nonconsenting person if that person 

is totally or partially nude or “clad in undergarments” in certain places or from below if 

the purpose is to capture an image of the intimate parts or undergarments.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill enacts § 18.2-386.2 to provide that a person is guilty of a 

Class 1 misdemeanor if he, with the intent to coerce, harass, or intimidate the depicted 

person, maliciously disseminates or sells any video graphic or still image created by any 

means whatsoever that depicts another person who is totally nude or in a state of undress 

so as to expose the genitals, pubic area, buttocks, or female breasts, where such person 

knows or has reason to know that he is not licensed or authorized to do so. Venue is 

where (1) the unlawful dissemination occurred or (2) where the image was produced, 

reproduced, found, stored, received or possessed.  

The bill also amends § 18.2-386.1 relating to the crime of creating an image of a 

nonconsenting person by substituting the term “video graphic or still image created by 

any means whatsoever” for the current term “videotape, photograph, or film.” 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb235
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb454
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+9.1-902
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-355
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-346
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-355
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb326
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-386
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-386.1
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Note: Internet service providers, electronic mail service providers, and any other 

information service, system, or access software provider utilized by the unlawful 

disseminator are exempted from the violation.  

HB 403 (R.B. Bell): Prior sex offenses admissible in evidence; sex crime against child.  

Current Law: Admission of prior offenses in criminal proceedings is subject to the rules 

of evidence. 

Effect of the Bill: The bill enacts § 18.2-67.7:1 of the Code of Virginia to provide that, in 

a criminal case in which the defendant is accused of a felony sexual offense involving a 

child victim, evidence of the defendant’s conviction of another sexual offense or offenses 

is admissible and may be considered for its bearing on any matter to which it is relevant. 

This rule of evidence is to be applied in conjunction with the Virginia Rules of Evidence.  

HB 567 (Watts): Assault by touching a person’s intimate parts; penalty.  

Current Law: It is a Class 1 misdemeanor to commit sexual battery which involves the 

sexual abuse of (1) a person by force, threat, or intimidation; (2) an inmate by an 

employee, contractor, or volunteer of a correctional facility or jail; or (3) a probationer, 

parole, pretrial defendant, or post trial offender by an employee, contractor, or volunteer 

of the supervising agency.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends § 18.2-67.4 of the Code of Virginia to provide that a 

person is guilty of sexual battery (punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor) if he sexually 

abuses within a two-year period (1) more than one complaining witness or (2) one 

complaining witness on more than one occasion intentionally and without the consent of 

the complaining witness.  

Note: Sexual abuse means an act committed with the intent to sexually molest, arouse, or 

gratify any person where the accused (1) intentionally touches the complaining witness's 

intimate parts or material directly covering such intimate parts; (2) forces the 

complaining witness to touch the accused’s, the witness’s own, or another person’s 

intimate parts or material directly covering such intimate parts; (3) forces another person 

to touch the complaining witness’s intimate parts or material directly covering such 

intimate parts; or (4) the accused causes or assists the complaining witness, who is under 

the age of 13, to touch the accused’s, the witness’s own, or another person’s intimate 

parts or material directly covering such intimate parts. 

HB 1251 (Ramadan): Sex offenders; reregistration; name change.  

Current Law: The Code of Virginia establishes the registration procedures for 

individuals required to register on the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry 

and the duration of the registration requirements. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb403
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.7
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb567
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.4
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb1251
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Effect of the Bill: The bill amends §§ 9.1-903 and 9.1-908 of the Code of Virginia and 

provides that a person required to register with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against 

Minors Registry must reregister in person with the local law-enforcement agency within 

three days following a change of the person’s name. Currently, there is no time specified 

for when such person has to reregister. The bill also requires any person confined in a 

jail, prison, or facility for individuals who have been civilly committed as a sexually 

violent predator to notify the Registry within three days following the name change.  

The bill also requires that the information contained in the Registry must include any 

former name of a person required to register if he has lawfully changed his name during 

the period for which he is required to register. Persons required to register who have 

changed their name prior to July 1, 2014, who have not already reregistered following 

their name change, must register within three days of July 1, 2014.  

SB 14 (Garrett): Certain sex crimes.  

Current Law: The Supreme Court of the United States, in Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 

558 (2003), held struck down Texas’ anti-sodomy law and invalidated sodomy laws in 

thirteen other states. The Code of Virginia has a provision criminalizing sodomy between 

consenting adults.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill does the following: 

 Adds the words “anal intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, and anilingus” to 

numerous Code sections criminalizing certain conduct to clarify the behaviors that 

are prohibited.  

 Clarifies the crimes that are prohibited by the crimes against nature statute (§ 

18.2-361). It removes sexual acts between consenting persons and retains 

bestiality and incest.  

 Increases from $10 to $15 the additional fee placed upon each felony or 

misdemeanor conviction assessed as court costs and deposited into the state 

treasury and credited to the Internet Crimes Against Children Fund.   

 States that an emergency exists and it is in force from its passage. 

SB 476 (Norment): Incest; definition of parent, includes step-parent, grandparent includes 

step-grandparent, penalty. 

Current Law: Section 18.2-366 makes adultery or fornication with a person’s child or 

grandchild a Class 5 felony. If the child or grandchild is at least 13 but less than 18 years 

of age, the crime is a Class 3 felony.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends § 18.2-366 of the Code of Virginia to provides that, 

for the purposes of the crime of incest, parent includes stepparent, grandparent includes 

step-grandparent, child includes stepchild, and grandchild includes step-grandchild. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+9.1-903
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+9.1-908
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb14
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb476
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-366
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-366
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SB 537 (Norment) Offenses requiring registration; withdrawal of plea by certain 

defendants.  

Current Law: The Code of Virginia requires individuals convicted of certain offenses to 

register on the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry. It provides that, prior 

to conviction for an offense requiring registration on the Sex Offender and Crimes 

Against Minors Registry due to the minority, physical helplessness, or mental incapacity 

of the victim, upon a determination by the court of the victim’s age, physical 

helplessness, or mental incapacity, the court shall inform the defendant of his right to 

withdraw a plea of guilty or nolo contendere and, if the defendant chooses to withdraw 

his plea, the case shall be heard by another judge unless the parties agree otherwise.   

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia and provides the 

following:  

 The judicial determination of the status of the alleged victim is only required 

when the indictment, warrant, or information does not allege that the victim was 

a minor, physically helpless, or mentally incapacitated.  

 The requirement to advise the defendant of his right to make a motion to 

withdraw the plea is only required when the judicial determination is required 

(where the victim status is not alleged in the complaint). 

 The provision for hearing by another judge, unless otherwise agreed, applies only 

when the court grants a defendant’s motion to withdraw the plea rather than “if 

the defendant chooses to withdraw his plea.” 

 Judicial failure to make a determination as to the minority, physical helplessness, 

or mental incapacity of the victim or so advise the defendant of his right to make 

a motion to withdraw his plea does not otherwise invalidate the conviction. 

  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb537
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+9.1-902
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EDUCATION 

 

HB 198 (Landes) / HB 752 (Rust) / SB 441 (Garrett): Elementary and secondary school 

students; expulsion 

Current Law: Current law requires schools to consider expulsion for violations of the 

federal Gun Free Schools Act of 1994. The expulsion sanction may not be imposed if 

“special circumstances exist and no disciplinary action or other disciplinary action or 

another term of expulsion is appropriate.” Current law also requires schools to consider 

expulsion if a student brings a controlled substance, imitation controlled substance, 

marijuana, or synthetic cannabinoids onto school property or a school-sponsored 

activity.  The expulsion sanction may not be imposed if “based on the facts of the 

particular case, that special circumstances exist and another action is appropriate.”  

Effect of the Bills:  The bills amend §§ 22.1-277.07 and 22.1-277.08 of the Code of 

Virginia to: 

 Include language stating that “nothing in this section shall be construed to require 

a student’s expulsion regardless of the facts of the particular situation.” 

 Clarify that students who have committed certain weapons or drug offenses are 

not required to be expelled and the decision to impose expulsion as a sanction is 

discretionary.  

HB 484 (Kory): Electronic cigarettes in public elementary and secondary schools.  

Current Law: The Code of Virginia does not contain a provision relating to electronic 

cigarettes in schools.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill requires each school board to (i) develop and implement a 

policy to prohibit the use of electronic cigarettes on a school bus, on school property, or 

at a school-sponsored activity and (ii) include in its code of student conduct a prohibition 

against possessing electronic cigarettes on a school bus, on school property, or at a 

school-sponsored activity. The bill requires school boards to update their policies and 

codes of student conduct by July 1, 2015. 

 

 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb198
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb752
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb441
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+22.1-277.07
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+22.1-277.08
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb484
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HB 751 (Rust): Expulsion of students for certain drug offenses.  

Current Law: A school board has discretion based on applicable facts to not expel a 

student for bringing a controlled substance, imitation controlled substance, marijuana, or 

synthetic cannabinoids onto school property or a school-sponsored activity, if “based on 

the facts of the particular case, that special circumstances exist and another action is 

appropriate.”  

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends §§ 22.1-277.07 and 22.1-277.08 of the Code of 

Virginia to: 

 Allows a school administrator, pursuant to a school board policy, to determine 

whether a disciplinary action other than expulsion is appropriate for drug offenses 

depending on the facts of the particular situation. Specifically, it allows the school 

administrator to impose a sanction other than expulsion if “special circumstances 

exist and no disciplinary action or other disciplinary action or another term of 

expulsion is appropriate.” 

 Adds clarifying language that “nothing in this section shall be construed to 

require a student’s expulsion regardless of the facts of the particular situation.”  

HB 758 (Rust): Teacher licensure requirements for career and technical education 

teachers. 

Current Law: The current law delineates the requirements to be completed for teachers 

seeking initial licensure. The current requirements do not specifically address career and 

technical education teachers.  

Effect of the Bill:  The bill amends § 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia and defines the 

term industry certification credential. The bill requires all teachers seeking initial 

licensure with an endorsement in the area of career and technical education to 

successfully complete a Board of Education-approved industry certification examination, 

and to be issued a state professional license, or successfully complete an occupational 

competency examination in the area of endorsement. 

HB 851(LeMunyon) / SB 570 (Stuart): Assault and battery of school employees. See Crimes 

(General).  

HB 930 (Greason) / SB 306 (Deeds): Standards of Learning assessments; reform.  

Current Law: The Virginia Board of Education (Board) requires end-of-course or end-

of-grade tests for English, mathematics, science, and history and social science and 

determined for which grade levels the tests are conducted.  

Effect of the Bills: The bills amend two sections of the Code of Virginia and add a new 

section to provide that the number and type of Standards of Learning assessments shall 

not exceed 17 specified assessments in grades three through eight. The bills require each 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb751
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+22.1-277.07
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+22.1-277.08
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb758
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+22.1-298.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb851
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb570
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb930
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb306
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local school board to certify that it has provided instruction and administered an 

alternative assessment, in conformance with Board guidelines, for each subject area in 

which the Standards of Learning assessment was not administered. The bills also require 

the Secretary of Education to establish the Standards of Learning Innovation Committee 

to periodically review the Standards of Learning and assessments. 

HB 1110 (Toscano): Children placed in child-caring institutions or group homes; 

reimbursement of costs to educate.  

Current Law: A school division is required to be reimbursed from funds appropriated by 

the General Assembly for the cost of educating a child with and without disabilities when 

the child is not a resident of such school division under certain conditions.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends § 22.1-101.1 of the Code of Virginia to require a 

school division to be reimbursed, for costs not covered by funds  appropriated by the 

General Assembly, by the school division in which a child’s custodial parent or guardian 

or most recent custodial parent or guardian resides for the costs of educating such child, 

whether disabled or not, who has been placed, not solely for school purposes, in foster 

care or a licensed child-caring institution or group home that is located within the 

geographical boundaries of the school division to be reimbursed. 

SB 448 (Norment): Hazing; penalty and institution policies.  

Current law:  Hazing is a crime when it results in bodily injury. Schools, colleges and 

universities receiving appropriations from the state treasury are required to have policies 

and procedures that provide for expulsions or other appropriate discipline based on the 

facts and circumstances of each case of student hazing.  

Effect of the Bill: Requires the policies of any public school or public institution of 

higher education regarding hazing to be consistent with model policies established by the 

Department of Education or the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, as 

applicable, and directs such agencies to establish such model policies with the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services. 

  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb1110
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+22.1-101.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb448
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MENTAL HEALTH 

 

HB 478 (Villanueva): Emergency custody orders; duration; notification. 

Current Law:  

 § 16.1-340 A minor may be held pursuant to an emergency custody order for four 

hours with a possible two-hour extension when the magistrate finds good cause. 

Law enforcement may not keep a minor meeting the criteria for an emergency 

custody order in custody for longer than four hours.  

 § 16.1-345.4 An examination of a minor to certify to the court whether or not 

probable cause exists to believe the minor meets the criteria for involuntary 

inpatient treatment or mandatory outpatient treatment must be conducted 

immediately after the hearing to review the mandatory outpatient treatment plan 

but the period for the examination cannot exceed four hours. 

 §19.2-182.9 An adult shall remain in custody pursuant to an emergency custody 

order until a temporary detention order is issued or until he is released, but in no 

event shall the period of custody exceed four hours.  The magistrate can grant a 

one-time two-hour extension for good cause.  

 § 37.2-808 Law-enforcement may not keep an adult meeting the criteria for an 

emergency custody order in custody for longer than four hours.  

 § 37.2-817.2 An examination of an adult to certify to the court whether or not 

probable cause exists to believe the adult meets the criteria for involuntary 

inpatient treatment or mandatory outpatient treatment must be conducted 

immediately at the individual’s request. The person shall remain in custody until a 

temporary detention order is issued or until the person is released, but in no event 

shall the period of custody exceed four hours.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill accomplishes the following:  

 Extends the time that a minor or an adult may be held pursuant to an emergency 

custody order from four hours with a possible two-hour extension to eight hours.  

 Provides that law-enforcement taking a person into emergency custody or 

executing an emergency custody order must notify the local community services 

board as soon as practicable after taking into custody or executing the order.  

 Requires that a person who is the subject of an emergency custody order or 

temporary detention order be given a written summary of the procedures and 

statutory protections associated with such custody or detention.  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb478
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+16.1-340
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+16.1-345.4
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+19.2-182.9
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+37.2-808
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+37.2-817.2
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 Directs the Governor’s Mental Health Task Force to study issues associated with 

law-enforcement’s involvement in the admission process and make 

recommendations designed to reduce the burden on law-enforcement resources 

SB 260 (Deeds): Emergency custody and temporary detention; psychiatric registry, period 

of custody.  

Effect of the Bill: The bill accomplishes the following:  

 Extends the time that a person may be held pursuant to an emergency custody 

order from four hours with a possible two-hour extension to eight hours.  

 Provides that a representative of the law-enforcement agency that takes the person 

into emergency custody or executes an emergency custody order must notify the 

local community services board as soon as practicable after the person is taken 

into custody or the order is executed.  

 Provides further that an individual for whom a temporary detention order is issued 

shall be detained in a state facility unless the state facility or an employee or 

designee of the community services board is able to identify an alternative facility 

that is able and willing to provide temporary detention. Under no circumstances 

shall a state facility fail or refuse to admit an individual who meets the criteria for 

temporary detention unless an alternative facility has agreed to accept the 

individual. The state facility and the local community services board may 

continue to look for an alternative facility for an additional four hours. The 

provisions of this bill allowing for this additional four-hour period expire on June 

30, 2018.  

 Requires that a person who is the subject of an emergency custody order or 

temporary detention order be given a written summary of the procedures and 

statutory protections associated with such custody or detention.  

 Directs the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services to 

establish an acute psychiatric bed registry that will provide real-time information 

on the availability of beds in public and private psychiatric facilities and 

residential crisis stabilization units for individuals who meet the criteria for 

temporary detention. The provisions of the bill establishing such registry are 

subject to an emergency clause.  

 Requires the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services to 

submit an annual report to the Governor and the Chairmen of the House 

Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees on the implementation of the 

provisions of the bill.  

 Directs the Governor's Mental Health Task Force to study issues associated with 

law enforcement’s involvement in the admission process and make 

recommendations designed to reduce the burden on law-enforcement resources.  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb260


DJJ 2014 Legislative Training Manual - Page 27 
 

 

PROTECTIVE ORDERS 

 

HB 285 (R.B. Bell) / SB 71 (Stuart): Emergency protective orders; arrests for certain 

offenses.  

Current Law: Sections 16.1-253.4 and 19.2-81.3 of the Code of Virginia define          

law-enforcement officers who have the power to make arrests for certain offenses as (1) 

any employee of a police department or sheriff’s office with responsibility for crime 

prevention and detection, and enforcement of penal, traffic or highway laws and (2) any 

member of an auxiliary police force.  

Effect of the Bills: Adds special conservators of the peace to the list of law-enforcement 

personnel who may obtain an emergency protective order and make arrests for assault 

and battery of a household member, stalking, and violation of a protective order. 

HB 335 (Bell) / SB 151 (Stuart): Family abuse protective orders; motor vehicles.    

Current Law:  Permits the judge to grant the petitioner of the protective order temporary 

possession or use of the motor vehicle owned by the petitioner alone or jointly owned by 

the petitioner and the respondent.  

Effect of the Bills: The bill amends § 16.1-279 of the Code of Virginia and retains the 

current status of the law and permits the court to (1) direct a respondent to maintain 

insurance, registration, and taxes on a motor vehicle and (2) enjoin the respondent from 

terminating such insurance, registration, and taxes when the court has granted the 

petitioner use or possession of the vehicle.  

HB 972 (Cline): Protective orders; companion animals.   

Current Law: The current law related to protective orders does not address the status or 

possession of companion animals (e.g., family pets). 

Effect of the Bill: The bill amends §§ 16.1-253, 16.1-253.1, 16.1-253.4, 16.1-279.1, 

19.2-152.8, 19.2-152.9, and 19.2-152.10 of the Code of Virginia and authorizes the court 

to include in a protective order provisions granting petitioner possession of a companion 

animal when the petitioner is the owner of the animal.  The provisions are applicable to 

all emergency, preliminary, and active protective orders.   

Note: “Owner” of the companion animal means any person who (1) has a right of 

property in the animal; (2) keeps the animal; (3) has the animal in his or her care; or (4) 

acts as custodian of the animal.  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb285
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb71
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-253.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-81.3
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb335
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb151
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-279
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb972
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+16.1-253
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+16.1-253.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+16.1-253.4
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+16.1-279.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+19.2-152.8
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+19.2-152.9
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+19.2-152.10
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SOCIAL SERVICES 

 

HB 334 (R.B. Bell) / SB 421 (McDougle): Local multidisciplinary child sexual abuse 

response teams.  

Current Law: There are no requirements relating to multidisciplinary responses to child 

sexual abuse.  

Effect of the Bills: The bills enact § 15.2-1627.5,of the Code of Virginia and require the 

attorney for the Commonwealth in each jurisdiction to establish a multidisciplinary child 

sexual abuse response team to conduct regular reviews of new and ongoing reports of 

felony sex offenses in the jurisdiction involving a child and the investigations thereof. 

The team may, at the request of any member of the team, conduct reviews of any other 

reports of child abuse and neglect or sex offenses in the jurisdiction involving a child and 

the investigations thereof. The team is required to meet “frequently enough” to ensure 

that no new or ongoing reports go more than 60 days without being reviewed by the 

team. The bill requires the following individuals or designees to participate in the 

reviews: 

 The attorney for the Commonwealth;  

 Law-enforcement officials responsible for the investigation of sex offenses 

involving a child in the jurisdiction;  

 A representative of the local child protective services unit;  

 A representative of a child advocacy center serving the jurisdiction, if one exists; 

and  

 A representative of an Internet Crimes Against Children task force affiliate 

agency serving the jurisdiction, if one exists.  

The attorney for the Commonwealth may invite other individuals, or their designees, 

including the school superintendent of the jurisdiction; a representative of any sexual 

assault crisis center serving the jurisdiction, if one exists; the director of the 

victim/witness program serving the jurisdiction, if one exists; and a health professional 

knowledgeable in the treatment and provision of services to children who have been 

sexually abused. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb334
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb421
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+15.2-1627.5
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HB 405 (R.B. Bell) / SB 284 (Howell): Suspected child abuse or neglect; reports to law 

enforcement.  

Current Law: Requires the local department of social services, upon receipt of a 

complaint, to report immediately to the attorney for the Commonwealth and the local 

law-enforcement agency suspected abuse or neglect involving (1) death of a child; (2) 

injury or threatening injury to the child in which a felony or Class 1 misdemeanor is also 

suspected; (3) sexual abuse, suspected sexual abuse, or other sexual offense involving a 

child; (4) abduction of a child; (5) felony or  Class 1 misdemeanor drug offenses 

involving a child; or (6) contributing to the delinquency of a minor. It also requires the 

local department of social services to make available to the attorney for the 

Commonwealth or local law enforcement agency the records of the case.  

Effect of the Bills: Requires the local department of social services to notify the local 

Commonwealth’s Attorney and local law-enforcement “immediately, but no more than 

two hours” of receipt of a child abuse or neglect complaint involving one of the six 

scenarios listed above. It clarifies that the local department of social services is required 

to provide the attorney for the Commonwealth and law-enforcement with its records and 

information relating to the complaint. It further requires the local department of social 

services, within two days of reporting to the attorney for the Commonwealth and law-

enforcement, to complete a written report documenting that the report was made. This 

report is required to be maintained in the record of the investigation.   

HB 412 (Anderson): Child welfare agencies; criminal history background checks.  

Effect of the Bill: Requires the Department of Social Services (VDSS) to convene a 

work group to review state and federal laws and regulations governing criminal 

background checks for child care providers in the Commonwealth and develop a plan to 

implement a national fingerprint based criminal background check. VDSS is required to 

report its findings to the Governor and the General Assembly by November 1, 2014. 

HB 522 (R.P. Bell): Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk Youth and Families; appeals.  

Current Law: The current law outlines the powers and duties of the community and 

policy management teams.  

Effect of the Bill: Requires community policy and management teams to establish 

policies and procedures for appeals of decisions made by local family assessment and 

planning teams regarding services to be provided to the youth and family pursuant to an 

individual family services plan. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb405
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb284
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb412
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb522
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The policies and procedures are for appeals brought by youth and their families and do 

not apply to appeals made for denial of foster care benefits (which are appealed to the 

Commissioner) or in accordance with Individuals with Disabilities in Education Act.  

HB 709 (Gilbert): Child abuse or neglect investigations; time for determination. 

Current Law: The local department of social services is required to report whether an 

allegation of suspected child abuse or neglect is founded or unfounded within 45 days 

and may be extended to 60 days if the local department of social services has “written 

justification.”  

Effect of the Bill: Provides for an extension of the time period during which a local 

department of social services must determine if a report of child abuse or neglect is 

founded from 60 to 90 days in cases in which the investigation is being conducted in 

cooperation with a law-enforcement agency and both parties agree that circumstances so 

warrant. 

HB 683 (Herring): Investigation of alleged child abuse and neglect; agreements with school 

divisions.  

Current Law: Each local department and local school division is required to adopt a 

written interagency agreement as a protocol for investigating child abuse and neglect 

reports against school personnel. 

Effect of the Bill: Requires local departments of social services and local school 

divisions to develop written interagency agreements for the investigation of all 

complaints of child abuse or neglect. Currently, local departments and local school 

divisions must enter into written interagency agreements for investigation of complaints 

of child abuse and neglect involving school personnel only. 

SB 284 (Howell): Kinship care; regulations.  

Current Law: There are no regulations governing the placement of children in kinship 

care as an alternative to placement in foster care.   

Effect of the Bill: Requires the Virginia Department of Social Services to provide draft 

regulations for the placement of children in kinship care to avoid foster care placement no 

later than January 1, 2016. 

SB 400 (Reeves): Kinship foster care; removal.  

Current Law: The local board shall is required to determine whether a child has a 

relative who is eligible to become a kinship foster parent.  Kinship foster care placements 

are subject to all requirements and eligible for all services of foster care placement. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb709
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb683
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb284
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb400
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Effect of the Bill: Provides that a child placed in kinship foster care shall not be removed 

from the physical custody of the kinship foster parent, provided the child has been living 

with the kinship foster parent for six consecutive months and the placement continues to 

meet approval standards for foster care, unless the kinship foster parent consents to the 

removal; removal is agreed upon at a family partnership meeting; removal is ordered by a 

court of competent jurisdiction; or removal is warranted pursuant to § 63.2-1517 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1517
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MISCELLANEOUS 

 

HB 17 (Marshall): Warrant requirement for cellular telephone, etc., as tracking device and 

obtaining location data.  

Current Law: A provider of electronic communication service or remote computing 

service may disclose a record or other information pertaining to a subscriber or customer 

of such service, excluding the contents of electronic communications, to an investigative 

or law-enforcement officer only pursuant to: (1) a subpoena issued by a grand jury of a 

court of this Commonwealth; (2) a search warrant issued by a magistrate, general district 

court or a circuit court; (3) a court order for such disclosure issued as provided in this 

section; or (4) the consent of the subscriber or customer to such disclosure.  

Effect of the Bill: Provides that a cellular phone or other wireless telecommunications 

device is a tracking device when it is used to track the movement of a person and that 

such use requires a warrant issued by a judicial officer. The bill also provides that the 

“location data” of a customer of an electronic communication service or a remote 

computing service may only be retrieved from the provider by warrant or consent of the 

customer. Location data is defined as any data or information that tracks, either at a point 

in time or over a period of time, the location of a subscriber or customer of a provider of 

electronic communication service or a remote computing service as determined by the 

location of an electronic device to which the subscriber or customer has legal title, claim, 

right, custody, or ultimate control. 

Clarifies that the location data shall be “real-time” location data. It adds that the data can 

be obtained through an administrative subpoena issued pursuant to § 19.2-10.2 and that 

the customer may consent but the consent is not required. It also adds that the electronic 

communication services shall disclose the real-time location data but not a record of the 

contents of the electronic communications. The substitute also adds parameters of how an 

investigator or law-enforcement office may obtain real-time data location when 

disclosure of real-time location data is not prohibited by federal law. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb17
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-10.2
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SB 97 (Reeves): Minimum clearance for passing bicycles, etc.  

Current Law: Any driver of any vehicle overtaking a bicycle, electric personal assistive 

mobility device, electric power-assisted bicycle, moped, animal, or animal-drawn vehicle 

proceeding in the same direction shall pass at a reasonable speed with a minimum 

clearance distance of two feet.  

Effect of the Bill: Increases from two to three feet the minimum clearance between a 

passing vehicle and a bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, electric power-

assisted bicycle, moped, animal, or animal-drawn vehicle. 

  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sb97
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STUDIES 

 

HB 1106 (Hope): Virginia Commission on Youth; review and report on the use of seclusion 

and restraint in schools. 

Requires the Virginia Commission on Youth, in consultation with the Department of 

Education and the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, to 

review (i) statewide policies and regulations on the use of seclusion and restraint in 

public and private elementary and secondary schools and (ii) methods used in other states 

to reduce and eliminate the use of seclusion and restraint in public and private elementary 

and secondary schools. The bill requires the Commission to make recommendations for 

the modernization of Virginia’s policies and regulations on the use of seclusion and 

restraint in schools and submit its recommendations no later than November 30, 2014, to 

the General Assembly. The Virginia Commission on Youth shall report its findings to the 

Governor and the 2015 Regular Session of the General Assembly.  

SJ 47 (Deeds) / SJ 16 (Howell): Study; mental health and the criminal justice system. 

Establishes a joint subcommittee to study mental health and the criminal justice system. 

The joint subcommittee shall consist of 12 legislative members. 

The joint subcommittee may appoint work groups to assist it with its work. In conducting 

its study, the joint subcommittee shall (i) review and coordinate with the work of the 

Governor’s Task Force on Improving Mental Health Services and Crisis Response; (ii) 

review the laws of the Commonwealth governing the provision of mental health services, 

including involuntary commitment of persons in need of mental health care; (iii) assess 

the systems of publicly funded mental health services, including emergency, forensic, and 

long-term mental health care and the services provided by local and regional jails and 

juvenile detention facilities; (iv) identify gaps in services and the types of facilities and 

services that will be needed to serve the needs of the Commonwealth in the twenty-first 

century; (v) examine and incorporate the objectives of House Joint Resolution 240 (1996) 

and House Joint Resolution 225 (1998) into its study; (vi) review and consider the report 

The Behavioral Health Services Study Commission: A Study of Virginia’s Publicly 

Funded Behavioral Health Services in the 21st Century; and (vii) recommend statutory or 

regulatory changes needed to improve access to services, the quality of services, and 

outcomes for individuals in need of services.  

In reviewing the need for facility beds at the community level, the joint subcommittee 

shall give consideration to whether the current fiscal incentives for expanding regional 

jail capacity should be eliminated and replaced with a new incentive for construction, 

renovation, or enlargement of community mental health facilities or programs, which 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb1106
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141+bil+SJ0047
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sj16


DJJ 2014 Legislative Training Manual - Page 36 
 

may or may not be co-located with selected jails on a regional basis. The joint 

subcommittee shall consider the appropriate location of such facilities; cooperative 

arrangements with community services boards, behavioral health authorities, and public 

and private hospitals; licensing, staffing, and funding requirements; and the statutory and 

administrative arrangements for the governance of such facilities. The joint subcommittee 

shall give consideration to the development of such facilities or programs on a pilot basis. 

SJ 24 (Favola) Study; expungement of juvenile records.  

Directs the Virginia State Crime Commission to study expungement of juvenile records. 

The study shall (i) review all laws related to confidentiality and retention of juvenile 

court records, (ii) report on at what time and by whom juvenile record information can be 

accessed, (iii) determine whether existing confidentiality and destruction of records laws 

are being complied with, (iv) examine the impact on youthful offenders of having a 

juvenile record, and (v) make recommendations regarding improvements in the laws that 

would assist juvenile offenders while allowing law-enforcement to maintain the safety of 

the citizens of the Commonwealth. 

  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=sj24
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SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATION 

 

Synthetic Marijuana 

HB 1112 and SB 594 amend all Code provisions related to synthetic marijuana (previously called 

synthetic cannabinoids). All references to synthetic cannabinoids have been struck from the Code.  

 Synthetic marijuana has been re-titled “cannabimimetic agents” and defined as a Schedule I 

substance (in 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia).  

 

 In all but one circumstance, the crime (VCC) and penalty actions related to cannabimimetic 

agents are the same as those applicable to Schedule I substances.  

 

 Simple possession of a “cannabimimetic agent” (synthetic marijuana) is a Class I misdemeanor 

pursuant to 18.2-250 of the Code of Virginia (versus a Class 5 felony for simple possession of all 

other Schedule I substances). The VCC for this is new and is NAR-3163-M1 (for the violation of 

18.2-250 (A)(a) related to simple possession of a cannabimimetic agent). 

 

 Note: all other offenses related to “cannabimimetic agents” will be treated the same as all other 

Schedule I substances.  

 

 Note: All provisions related to marijuana (not synthetic) remain unchanged.  

 § 2.2-4006. Exemptions from requirements of this article and § 54.1-3443. Board to 

administer article. 

o The Board of Pharmacy is exempt from the Virginia Register Act and is able to amend 

regulations for Schedule I and II drugs in consultation with the Department of Forensic 

Science if it is determined the substance should be classified as a Schedule I or II drug.  

 § 54.1-3446. Schedule I.  

o The term synthetic cannabinoids has been struck throughout the Code of Virginia 

(Code).  The term cannabimimetic agents  is the term that is now used when referencing a 

substance containing bath salt and bath salt like products. Cannabimimetic agent are now 

classified by the Code of Virginia as a Schedule I drug § 54.1-3446.   

o The term cannabimimetic agent is not seen throughout the Code because most sections 

that included the term synthetic cannabiniod also referenced Schedule I substances and 

due to the cannabimimetic reclassification as a Schedule I drug referencing the substance 

separately is no longer necessary.  

o Defines a controlled substance to mean substances included in 54.11-3401 (Schedule I) 

and previously included synthetic cannabinoids.  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=141&typ=bil&val=hb1112
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141+sum+SB594
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+54.1-3446
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-250
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+2.2-4006
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+54.1-3443
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+54.1-3446
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+54.1-3446
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The following sections of the Code strike the term synthetic marijuana and reference Schedule I 

drugs and are applicable to the youth served or the services provided by the Department of 

Juvenile Justice.  

 § 16.1-260. Intake; petition; investigation.  

o List the crimes for which and intake officers is required to a file a report with the division 

superintendent of the school division when a petition is filed.  

o Includes manufacture, sale, gift, distribution, or possession of Schedule I or II previously 

listed synthetic cannabinoids.  

 § 16.1-278.8:01. Juveniles found delinquent of first drug offense; screening; assessment; drug 

tests; costs and fees; education or treatment programs. 

o Requires the juvenile or circuit court to have a juvenile who has not previously been 

found delinquent of a drug offense for Schedule I, II, III, IV, V and VI, marijuana, or 

imitation controlled substances undergo substance abuse screening in addition to ordering 

substance abuse treatment or education if appropriate. This section previously included 

synthetic cannabinoids.  

 §18.2-248.1:1   Repealed  

o Repealed section addressed penalties for possession, sale, gift, or distribution of or 

possession with intent to sell, give or distribute synthetic marijuana.  

 § 18.2-46.1. Definitions.  

o Removes §18.2-248.1:1   from the list of predicate criminal acts used to define activity of 

a criminal street gang.  

 § 18.2-250. Possession of controlled substances unlawful. 

o Possession of a Schedule I or II drug is a Class 5 felony but there is an exception for 

cannabimimetic agents. 

o Possession of a cannabimimetic agent is a Class 1 misdemeanor unless you are an inmate  

in a penal institution then it  is still a Class 5 felony 

 § 18.2-255. Distribution of certain drugs to persons under 18 prohibited; penalty. 

o It is illegal for any person who is at least 18 years of age to knowingly or intentionally (i) 

distribute any drug classified in Schedule I, II, III or IV or marijuana to any person under 

18 years of age who is at least three years his junior or (ii) cause any person under 18 

years of age to assist in such distribution of any drug classified in Schedule I, II, III or IV 

or marijuana. This section previously included synthetic marijuana.  

o It is illegal for any person who is at least 18 years of age to knowingly or intentionally (i) 

distribute any imitation controlled substance to a person under 18 years of age who is at 

least three years his junior or (ii) cause any person under 18 years of age to assist in such 

distribution of any imitation controlled substance. Any person violating this provision 

shall be guilty of a Class 6 felony. 

 § 18.2-255.1. Distribution, sale or display of printed material advertising instruments for use in 

administering marijuana or controlled substances to minors; penalty.  

o  It shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor for any person knowingly to sell, distribute, or display for 

sale to a minor any book, pamphlet, periodical or other printed matter which he knows 

advertises for sale any instrument, device, article, or contrivance for advertised use in 

unlawfully ingesting, smoking, administering, preparing or growing marijuana or a controlled 

substance.  This section previously included synthetic marijuana.  

 § 18.2-255.2. Prohibiting the sale or manufacture of drugs on or near certain properties; penalty.  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+16.1-260
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+16.1-278.8C01
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-46.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-250
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-255
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-255.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-255.2
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o It is illegal to manufacture, sell or distribute or possess with intent to sell, give or distribute 

any controlled substance, imitation controlled substance, or marijuana in the following 

locations/properties.  

  the property, including buildings and grounds, of any public or private 

elementary, secondary, or post secondary school, or any public or private two-

year or four-year institution of higher education, or any clearly marked licensed 

child day center.  

 public property or any property open to public use within 1,000 feet of the 

property 

 any school bus 

 school bus stop, or upon either public property or any property open to public use 

which is within 1,000 feet of such school bus stop, during the time when school 

children are waiting to be picked up and transported to or are being dropped off 

from school or a school-sponsored activity 

 any publicly owned or publicly operated recreation or community center facility 

or any public 

 mental health facility or upon public property or property open to public use 

within 1,000 feet of such an institution. 

o This section previously included synthetic marijuana.   

 § 18.2-308.4. Possession of firearms while in possession of certain substances. 

o It is illegal for any person to unlawfully possess Schedule I or II drug and simultaneously 

with knowledge and intent possess any firearm. Class 6 felony.  

o It is illegal for any person to possess, use, or attempt to use any pistol, shotgun, rifle, or 

other firearm or display such weapon in a threatening manner while committing or 

attempting to commit the illegal manufacture, sale, distribution, or the possession with 

the intent to manufacture, sell, or distribute a Schedule I or Schedule II drug. Class 6 

felony. 

o This section previously included synthetic marijuana 

 § 18.2-474.1. Delivery of drugs, firearms, explosives, etc., to prisoners or committed persons. 

o It is illegal to deliver, attempt to deliver, or conspire with another to deliver to any 

prisoner or to any person committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice in any juvenile 

correctional center any controlled substance. Class 5 felony.  

 § 19.2-83.1. Report of arrest of school employees and adult students for certain offenses.  

o Requires  state officials, agencies and all law enforcement to report  (1) arresting a person 

who is known or discovered by the arresting official to be a full-time, part-time, 

permanent, or temporary teacher or other employee in any public school division in this 

Commonwealth for a felony or a Class 1 misdemeanor or an equivalent offense in 

another state  and  (2)  arresting a student who is age 18 or over  in a public school who 

was arrested for any of the multiple enumerated offenses including the manufacture, sale, 

gift, distribution or possession of Schedule I or II controlled substances. This section 

previously included synthetic marijuana. 

 § 22.1-277.08. Expulsion of students for certain drug offenses.  

o Students shall be expelled from school for bringing a controlled substance, imitation 

controlled substance, or marijuana onto school property or school sponsored activity. The 

school administrator pursuant to school board policy, or a school board may, however, 

determine, based on the facts of a particular situation that special circumstances exist and 

no disciplinary action or another disciplinary action or another term of expulsion is 

appropriate. This section previously included synthetic marijuana. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-308.4
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+18.2-474.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+19.2-83.1
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+22.1-277.08
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 § 22.1-279.3:1. Reports of certain acts to school authorities. 

o This section provides and enumerated list of the offenses law enforcement is required to 

report to the division superintendent and principal when an incident occurs on school 

property, school bus, or school sponsored activity. 

o The list includes any conduct involving alcohol, marijuana, a controlled substance, 

imitation controlled substance, or an anabolic steroid on a school bus, on school property, 

or at a school-sponsored activity, including the theft or attempted theft of student 

prescription medications. This section previously included synthetic marijuana. 

 § 54.1-3401. Definitions.  

o The term "controlled substance" includes a controlled substance analog that has been 

placed into Schedule I or II by the Board pursuant to the regulatory authority in 

subsection D of § 54.1-3443.  

o Control substance analog is defined.  

The following sections of the Code strike the term synthetic marijuana and reference Schedule I 

drugs but are not applicable to the services provided by the Department of Juvenile Justice.  

 § 15.2-907. Authority to require removal, repair, etc., of buildings and other structures harboring 

illegal drug use.  

 § 18.2-251. Persons charged with first offense may be placed on probation; conditions; substance 

abuse screening, assessment treatment and education programs or services; drug tests; costs and 

fees; violations; discharge.  

 § 18.2-258. Certain premises deemed common nuisance; penalty.  

 § 18.2-258.02. Maintaining a fortified drug house; penalty 

 § 18.2-258.1. Obtaining drugs, procuring administration of controlled substances, etc., by fraud, 

deceit or forgery.  

 § 18.2-308.09. Disqualifications for a concealed handgun permit 

 § 18.2-308.1:5. Purchase or transportation of firearm by persons convicted of certain drug 

offenses prohibited.  

 § 19.2-187. Admission into evidence of certain certificates of analysis.  

 § 19.2-386.22. Seizure of property used in connection with or derived from illegal drug 

transactions. 

 § 19.2-386.23. Disposal of seized controlled substances, marijuana, and paraphernalia.  

 § 19.2-386.24. Destruction of seized controlled substances or marijuana prior to trial. 

 § 19.2-386.25. Judge may order law-enforcement agency to maintain custody of controlled 

substances, etc. 

 § 24.2-233. Removal of elected and certain appointed officers by courts. 

 § 53.1-145. Powers and duties of probation and parole officers.  

 § 53.1-203. Felonies by prisoners; penalties. 
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