Administration and Finance

Admin and Finance Unit

DJJ's Administration and Finance Unit

“Behind the scenes” is a well-known expression taken from the theater industry, which refers to the people you rarely see as you’re watching the show, but without them the production would completely fall apart. This is also an apt description for the members of the DJJ Administration and Finance Division.

Our A&F staff represent a wide range of multi-talented, highly skilled professionals who make sure the right people are hired to do the important work we do, buy them the supplies they need, make sure they are paid on time, train them with the latest available knowledge and techniques, and ensure we stay within our budget while doing it.

Each day at DJJ, the Administrative and Finance Division team members work hard to ensure that our greater DJJ team is able to focus on the important work that they do. We are proud to contribute to the agency mission from behind the scenes.

In addition to those noted in the arrows at left, Administration and Finance oversees the following departments:

Accounting -- Accounting is composed of three parts: Payroll, Accounts Payable, and General Accounting.

  • Payroll makes sure our 1,800 full-time employees and 125 part-time employees are paid on time every two weeks, and receive a W-2 tax form at the end of the year.
  • Accounts Payable gets all of DJJ’s bills paid on time.
  • General Accounting handles petty cash, donation accounts, residents’ accounts, and payments from grants, child support and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).

Procurement -- The Procurement Department buys all the goods and services needed by the youth in DJJ’s care, including food, clothing, educational tools, beds, exercise equipment, and technology. The Department also purchases supplies needed by DJJ employees.

Vendors wishing to do business with DJJ should visit eVA, a web-based electronic marketplace that brings government buyers and sellers together. Registering with eVA gives vendors access to DJJ buyers as well as buyers from other Virginia government buyers. Click HERE to get started.

For more vendor information, visit our Vendor Resources page.

Internal Audit -- Internal Auditing is an independent and objective assurance and consulting activity that is guided by a philosophy of adding value to improve DJJ operations. It brings a systematic and disciplined approach to evaluate and improve the effectiveness of DJJ’s governance, risk management, and internal control.

The unit is authorized to have unrestricted access to all of DJJ’s records, physical properties, and personnel pertinent to carrying out our mission, with strict accountability for confidentiality and safeguarding records and information.

Internal audits are performed in accordance with the auditing standards applicable to financial audits contained in the Government Auditing Standards issued by the Comptroller General of the United States and International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing promulgated by the Institute of Internal Auditors.

Safety and Risk Management -- The Risk Management Unit is responsible for directing programs that promote accident prevention, loss control as well as health and safety code compliance for the Department of Juvenile Justice. We also are the point of contact with the Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) in dealing with emergencies that affect the agency. Our goal is to ensure a safe work environment for all DJJ staff as well as staying prepared to effectively respond to all emergencies that impact our operations.

Contacts

Jamie Patten
Deputy Director, Administration & Finance
(804) 397-5698
jamie.patten@djj.virginia.gov

Martha Hazelgrove
Administrative Assistant
(804) 314-3597
martha.hazelgrove@djj.virginia.gov

T.R. Darden
Accouting Manager
(804) 317-1224
theodore.darden@djj.virginia.gov

Nikia Jones
Budget Manager
(804) 802-2105
nikia.jones@djj.virginia.gov

Robert Wilburn, VCCO
Capital Outlay Manager
(804) 517-9686
robert.wilburn@djj.virginia.gov

Huafeng Ding, Ph.D.
Data Manager
(804) 588-3923
huafeng.ding@djj.virginia.gov

Leigh Archer
Human Resources Director
(804) 278-7044
leigh.archer@djj.virginia.gov

Philip Anastasi
Information Technology Director
(804) 396-9503
philip.anastasi@djj.virginia.gov

Tabitha Dowtin
Internal Auditor
(804) 625-3393
tabitha.dowtin@djj.virginia.gov

Vacant
Procurement & Logistics Manager
(804) 588-3860

Greg Davy
Public Information Officer
(804) 971-3973
greg.davy@djj.virginia.gov

Jessica Schneider, Ph.D.
Research Manager
(804) 516-1416
jessica.schneider@djj.virginia.gov

Robert Gunn
Risk Management Manager
(804) 588-3854
robert.gunn@djj.virginia.gov

Patrick Bridge
Training & Organizational Development Director
VPSTC Manager
(804) 537-6620
patrick.bridge@djj.virginia.gov

Lauren Sumner
Business Offices Director
(804) 489-0197
lauren.sumner@djj.virginia.gov